Page 2 of our reviews

The Electric Hotel by Dominic Smith

Reviewed by Dianna Jarnet

Dominic Smith continues his fascinating exploration of the progression of life through art. This time around it is the beginnings of filmmaking. It is 1962 and we find our protagonist, Claude Ballard…

Read more ›

Crossings by Alex Landragin

Reviewed by Deborah Crabtree

In the opening pages of Alex Landragin’s debut novel, Crossings, the reader is immediately made aware that this is no ordinary tale. The first two sentences read: ‘I didn’t write this book. I stole i…

Read more ›

City of Girls by Elizabeth Gilbert

Reviewed by Chris Gordon

This generous novel is not for fans of Elizabeth Gilbert’s Eat, Pray, Love. Rather, it is for readers that want to be taken on a glorious, fictitious adventure through the 1940s and beyond. Set in Ne…

Read more ›

Big Sky by Kate Atkinson

Reviewed by Eva Sandoval

‘It was a good day when you saved someone’s life. Even better when you didn’t die saving them.’ Lately, that’s the kind of day happening quite often in the life of private investigator Jackson Brodie…

Read more ›

River Stone by Rachel Henessy

Reviewed by Joe Murray

In Rachel Hennessy’s vision of the future in River Stone, civilisation has been devastated and humanity has retreated into nature to survive, living off the land and leaving modern technology behind.…

Read more ›

Monty and the Poodles by Katie Harnett

Reviewed by Alexa Dretzke

Monty lives on the wrong side of the tracks, while Ginger and her pals luxuriate on the right side, at Poodle Mansions. So what does a homeless mutt have in common with a refined poodle? It seems tha…

Read more ›

Insignificant Events in the Life of a Cactus by Dusti Bowling

Reviewed by Dani Solomon

Aven thinks her dad has gone crazy when he announces that the family are going to move to Arizona and manage a run-down old country-and-western theme park. She dreads moving from her home town, where…

Read more ›

Young Dark Emu: A Truer History by Bruce Pascoe

Reviewed by Dani Solomon

Young Dark Emu: A Truer History is a children’s version of Bruce Pascoe’s incredibly popular Dark Emu – a book that explains that Australian Aboriginals at the time of British colonisation were not o…

Read more ›

Kind by Alison Green and Axel Scheffler

Reviewed by Alexa Dretzke

Kindness can be as simple as smiling at someone or just listening carefully. Sometimes it is being humane to an animal, or welcoming newcomers and making them feel at home. This wonderful book, illus…

Read more ›

My Book (Not Yours) (Lento and Fox, Book 1) by Ben Sanders

Reviewed by Claire Atherfold

Author and illustrator Ben Sanders from Ballarat has done it again. After his rollicking, rhyming text and retro design in I’ve an Uncle Ivan, we now have the hilariously fun My Book (Not Yours) (Len

Read more ›