Readings’ famous bargains table
Beasts: What Animals Can Teach Us About Human Nature

Beasts: What Animals Can Teach Us About Human Nature

Jeffrey Moussaieff Masson

Orcas (or killer whales) are one of the planet's supreme predators. Alongside humans, they have the most complex brains to be found in nature. But while one of these two species has killed 200 million members of its own kind in...

$15.95Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Historical Atlas of the Bible

The Historical Atlas of the Bible

Emeritus Chair Department of History University of Derby Ian Barnes

From ancient times to the New Testament, this visual guide takes readers through the Promised Land and follows the footsteps of Jesus in Galilee.

$29.95Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Everyone Brave Is Forgiven

Everyone Brave Is Forgiven

Chris Cleave

The finest, most powerful novel yet from a modern master of storytelling and author of the 500k-copy selling The Other Hand.

$16.95Buy now

Finding stock availability...

A Cool and Lonely Courage: The Untold Story of Sister Spies in Occupied France

A Cool and Lonely Courage: The Untold Story of Sister Spies in Occupied France

Susan Ottaway

The incredible true story of British special agents Eileen and Jacqueline Nearne, sisters who risked everything to fight for freedom during the Second World War. When elderly recluse Eileen Nearne died, few suspected that the...

$14.95Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Benjamin Britten: A Life for Music

Benjamin Britten: A Life for Music

Neil Powell

This spellbinding centenary biography by Neil Powell looks at the music, the life, and the legacy of the greatest British composer of the twentieth century

$10.00Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Special priceThe Buried Giant

The Buried Giant

Kazuo Ishiguro

A couple set off across a troubled land of mist and rain in the hope of finding a son they have not seen in years. Sometimes savage, often intensely moving, Kazuo Ishiguro's first novel in nearly a decade is about lost memories,...

$16.95Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewLet Me Be Frank with You

Let Me Be Frank with You

Richard Ford

Ford reinvents Bascombe in the aftermath of Hurricane Sandy. In four richly luminous narratives, Bascombe attempts to reconcile, interpret and console a world undone by calamity. It is a moving and wondrous and extremely funny...

$15.95Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Special priceThe Novelist's Lexicon: Writers on the Words That Define Their Work

The Novelist’s Lexicon: Writers on the Words That Define Their Work

Villa Gillet, Le Monde

Translation of: Lexique nomade [a collection of short meditations by contemporary novelists at the 3rd Assises internationales du roman]

$12.00Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Bollywood Posters

Bollywood Posters

Jerry Pinto, Sheena Sippy

On the streets of the vibrant and anarchic city of Mumbai, the film poster is a familiar splash of colour. It is an invitation to the pleasures of Bollywood, the worlds largest film industry. This book is suitable for film buffs,...

$19.95Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Special priceThe New Jewish Table: Modern Seasonal Recipes for Traditional Dishes

The New Jewish Table: Modern Seasonal Recipes for Traditional Dishes

Todd Gray, Ellen Kassoff Gray

Explores the melding of two different cooking cultures, seasonal American and Eastern-European Jewish. This title features more than 125 recipes including reinterpretations of traditional Jewish favourites made with fresh,...

$19.95Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Elizabeth David on Vegetables

Elizabeth David on Vegetables

Elizabeth David, Kristin Perers, Jill Norman

This beautiful new collection celebrates Elizabeth David's best and most-loved vegetable recipes, spanning her lifetime's cooking and featuring a range of delicious, timeless dishes filled with irresistible flavours and scents.

$19.95Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Joan of Arc: A Life Transfigured

Joan of Arc: A Life Transfigured

Kathryn Harrison

The profoundly inspiring and fully documented saga of Joan of Arc, the young peasant girl whose voices moved her to rally the French nation and a reluctant king against British invaders in 1428, has fascinated artistic figures...

$19.95Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Wilson

Wilson

A Scott Berg

In the tradition of Truman, John Adams, and Team of Rivals, a Pulitzer Prize and National Book Award-winning biographer presents the most personal and penetrating biography ever written about the Woodrow Wilson, the nation's...

$15.95Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Road to Character

The Road to Character

David Brooks (Crown Cork & Seal Corporate Technologies Oxford UK)

David Brooks tells the story of ten great lives that illustrate how character is developed, and how we can all strive to build rich inner lives, marked by humility and moral depth. In a society that emphasizes success and external...

$19.95Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Jony Ive: The Genius Behind Apple's Greatest Products

Jony Ive: The Genius Behind Apple’s Greatest Products

Leander Kahney

With the death of Steve Jobs in 2011, Jony Ive has become the most important person at Apple. Some would argue he always was. Steve Jobs discovered Ive in 1997, when he found the scruffy British designer toiling away in a studio...

$13.95Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Who: 50 Years: The Official History

The Who: 50 Years: The Official History

Ben Marshall

The only official history of The Who--created with the full cooperation of Pete Townshend and Roger Daltrey, and spectacularly illustrated with rare photographs and memorabilia--published in conjunction with the fiftieth...

$16.95Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Perilous Question: Reform or Revolution? Britain on the Brink, 1832

Perilous Question: Reform or Revolution? Britain on the Brink, 1832

Antonia Fraser

Can a rotten political institution save itself? A story from English history has relevance for our own Congress...

$10.00Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Special priceStraight Sex: The Politics of Pleasure: Rethinking the Politics of Pleasure

Straight Sex: The Politics of Pleasure: Rethinking the Politics of Pleasure

Lynne Segal

Once again, Lynne Segal cuts through feminist ambivalence about sex with great intelligence, verve, and courage. Straight Sex is not only a masterful analysis of sexuality and gender, but a stunning manifesto of sexual...

$10.00Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Don’t see anything you like? Search our catalogue of over a million books.