Page 5 of our reviews

Crossings by Alex Landragin

Reviewed by Deborah Crabtree

In the opening pages of Alex Landragin’s debut novel, Crossings, the reader is immediately made aware that this is no ordinary tale. The first two sentences read: ‘I didn’t write this book. I stole i…

Read more ›

Frankissstein: A Love Story by Jeanette Winterson

Reviewed by George Delaney

Jeanette Winterson returns with another adaptation – this time with Mary Shelley’s much loved gothic horror novel, Frankenstein, drawn into a past-and present narrative about animation, artificial in…

Read more ›

The White Girl by Tony Birch

Reviewed by Georgia Brough

In post-World War II Deane, a rural Australian town, Odette Brown cares for her granddaughter Sissy. They live on Deane’s fringes, in a run-down mining area called Quarrytown, where the local police …

Read more ›

City of Girls by Elizabeth Gilbert

Reviewed by Chris Gordon

This generous novel is not for fans of Elizabeth Gilbert’s Eat, Pray, Love. Rather, it is for readers that want to be taken on a glorious, fictitious adventure through the 1940s and beyond. Set in Ne…

Read more ›

The Electric Hotel by Dominic Smith

Reviewed by Dianna Jarnet

Dominic Smith continues his fascinating exploration of the progression of life through art. This time around it is the beginnings of filmmaking. It is 1962 and we find our protagonist, Claude Ballard…

Read more ›

Big Sky by Kate Atkinson

Reviewed by Eva Sandoval

‘It was a good day when you saved someone’s life. Even better when you didn’t die saving them.’ Lately, that’s the kind of day happening quite often in the life of private investigator Jackson Brodie…

Read more ›

Breaking Badly by Georgie Dent

Reviewed by Annie Condon

Georgie Dent is an accomplished journalist and public speaker. She is the contributing editor of Women’s Agenda, and tweets on feminist issues. But while her memoir, Breaking Badly, details her caree…

Read more ›

Superior: The return of race science by Angela Saini

Reviewed by Chris Dite

Superior is science journalist Angela Saini’s exploration of the rise, slight fall and second coming of ‘race science’. It’s the perfect antidote to the whirlpool of pseudoscience currently engulfing…

Read more ›

Hitch by Kathryn Hind

Reviewed by Annie Condon

In her debut novel, Kathryn Hind has created a complex and vulnerable character, Amelia, who is hitchhiking around Australia following her mother’s death. Amelia is in her early twenties and has no f…

Read more ›

This Brutal House by Niven Govinden

Reviewed by Gabrielle Williams

This Brutal House felt slightly dystopian before I realised I was immersed in the language of drag queens, vogue balls, runaways, and sex workers in New York City. It’s a novel peopled by characters …

Read more ›