The ABIA Book shortlists 2020

The Australian Book Industry Awards Academy has announced the ABIA Book shortlists for 2020, and the winners of the Rising Star and Hall of Fame Awards.

Congratulations to all the shortlisted authors, illustrators, narrators, and publishers.

General fiction book of the year

Literary fiction book of the year

General nonfiction book of the year

Biography book of the year

Book of the year for older children (ages 13+)

Book of the year for younger children (ages 7-13)

Children’s picture book of the year (ages 0-6)

Illustrated book of the year

International book of the year

Small publishers’ adult book of the year

Small publishers’ children’s book of the year

The Matt Richell award for new writer of the year

The Audiobook of the year

The winner of the 2020 Rising Star Award is Hazel Lam from Harper Collins. Two Hall of Fame Awards were announced: Helen Garner as the recipient of the Lloyd O’Neil Award for outstanding contribution to the industry, and Erica Wagner as the recipient of the Pixie O’Harris Award for consistent contribution to Children’s Literature.

We are also thrilled that Readings has been shortlisted for Book Retailer of the Year and that our Carlton shop has been shortlisted for Bookshop of the Year. See the full shortlists for these categories here.

The 2020 ABIA winners will be announced at an online ceremony on 13 May of this year. Find out more about the ABIA Book awards here.

 Read review
The Yield

The Yield

Tara June Winch

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...