Young adult new releases in May

From zombie movies to the Scottish Highlands, here are our picks for the best young adult new releases in May.


#LoveOZYA


Boone_Shepard

The Lifespan of Starlight by Thalia Kalkipsakis was one of our favourite #LoveOZYA reads of 2015, so it’s incredibly exciting to see the sequel, Split Infinity, is out this month. After the events of the first book, Scout has become a talented time skipper on the run from a government intent on recapturing her. This is romantic sci-fi at its best, so make sure you don’t miss out on this heart-stopping trilogy.

Is your life sadly bereft of evil plots, secret fortresses and suspicious experiments? You might want to rectify that by picking up a copy of Gabriel Bergmoser’s debut novel Boone Shepard. A young journalist is sent to investigate a missing persons case deep in the Scottish Highlands, but the mystery takes a strange turn that becomes all-too-personal for Boone. Perfect adventure fare for fans of Indiana Jones and Tin Tin.

The Things I Didn’t Say by Kylie Fornasier introduces us to Piper Rhodes, who has selective mutism and has transferred to a new school to escape the memory of her best friend’s death. But complications still find her in her new surroundings in the form of West, the handsome school captain. Can Piper risk losing her heart again?

Maggie Butt has a pain… or rather The Pain (otherwise known as her mother’s new boyfriend). And as if he’s not enough to deal with, she’s also struggling to get A’s in English and find a date for graduation dance. The Pain, My Mother, Sir Tiffy, Cyber Boy and Me is the latest from the award-winning Michael Gerard Bauer, and if you’ve read his previous books you’ll know that you’re in good storytelling hands here. As our reviewer puts it: ‘His characters and their dilemmas are always written with great affection and humour. Maggie Butt’s story is no exception.’ Read the rest of our review here.


Events for YA lovers this month


ashala_wolf

There are two great events on in May for lovers of young adult literature.

The first is our YA Bookclub which is being held on Wednesday 18 May. Come along to our St Kilda shop to discuss Ambelin Kwaymullina’s thrilling Australian dystopia, The Interrogation of Ashala Wolf. This event is free, but please RSVP here.

Readings St Kilda is also hosting Brooklyn-based Tommy Wallach, author of New York Times bestseller, We All Looked Up. Stop by the shop on Thursday 26 May to hear Tommy read from his books and perform songs inspired by them. This event is also free, but please RSVP here.


Excellent YA reads in May


the_island

  • Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson: Relationships, political scandals and dog-walking… Can plan-addicted Andie learn to embrace the chaos in her life?

  • Riverkeep by Martin Stewart: A young boy sets out on a quest to save his father in this dark fantasy reminiscent of Philip Pullman’s His Dark Materials.

  • The Island by Olivia Levez: Frances is a castaway stranded alone on an island and forced to fend for herself, armed only with her own feeble skills.

  • A Court Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas: Here is the sequel to A Court of Thorns and Roses, a romantic fantasy by the bestselling author of the Throne of Glass series.

  • Greatest Zombie Movie Ever by Jeff Strand: Justin sets out to make filmmaking history and catch the eye of dream-girl Alicia while he’s at it.

  • Square Root of Summer by Harriet Reuter Hapgood: Heartache meets time travel after Gottie struggles to deal with the sudden reappearance of an old friend.

Holly Harper is a children’s bookseller and author who blogs for the Readings website.

 Read review
The Pain, My Mother, Sir Tiffy, Cyber Boy & Me

The Pain, My Mother, Sir Tiffy, Cyber Boy & Me

Michael Gerard Bauer

$16.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...