Our children’s & YA top 10 bestsellers of the week

  1. Wilam: A Birrarung Story by Aunty Joy Murphy, Andrew Kelly & Lisa Kennedy
  2. Diary of an Awesome Friendly Kid: Rowley Jefferson’s Journal by Jeff Kinney
  3. Hopping Weird (Weirdo Book 12) by Anh Do
  4. The Dog Runner by Bren MacDibble
  5. Kids Who Did: Kids Who Ruled, Rebelled, Survived and Thrived by Kirsty Murray
  6. Real Pigeons Fight Crime by Andrew McDonald & Ben Wood
  7. Fing by David Walliams & Tony Ross
  8. All the Ways to Be Smart by Davina Bell & Allison Colpoys
  9. Five Feet Apart by Rachael Lippincott, Mikki Daughtry & Tobias Iaconis
  10. Ottilie Colter and the Narroway Hunt) by Rhiannon Williams

Senior Wurundjeri Elder Aunty Joy Murphy’s picture book Wilam: A Birrarung Story is our bestselling children’s and young adult book for a second week in a row. Co-written with Yarra River-keeper Andrew Kelly and illustrated by Lisa Kennedy, the book is a beautiful introduction to the Yarra River (Birrarung) for readers young and old.

Jeff Kinney’s new book Diary of an Awesome Friendly Kid: Rowley Jefferson’s Journal is also proving a hit with junior readers. This latest book is a spin-off of the Diary of a Wimpy Kid series, starring Greg Heffley’s best friend Rowley Jefferson.

Bren MacDibble’s powerful imagining of things to come, The Dog Runner , is also in our top 10. MacDibble’s story about two young people scrabbling to survive in a landscape wrecked by climate change is timely and topical, particularly following the climate marches this month. On a similar note, Kirsty Murray’s Kids Who Did: Kids Who Ruled, Rebelled, Survived and Thrived is an inspiring collection of true stories about children who made a difference. It’s the perfect book to get the young activist in the house fired up and motivated to change the world.

Other children’s and YA bestsellers last week include: a moving young adult novel in the vein of John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars, Five Feet Apart; and Readings Children’s Book Prize finalists Ottilie Colter and the Narroway Hunt) and Real Pigeons Fight Crime.

 Read review
Wilam: A Birrarung Story

Wilam: A Birrarung Story

Aunty Joy Murphy, Andrew Kelly, Lisa Kennedy

$24.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...