Real Pigeons Fight Crime

Andrew McDonald, Ben Wood

Real Pigeons Fight Crime
  • Format
  • Publisher
  • Country
  • Published
  • Pages
  • ISBN

Real Pigeons Fight Crime

Andrew McDonald, Ben Wood

Ever wonder why pigeons always act so weird? It’s because they’re out there chasing the bad guys and saving your butts!

Did you know your city is protected by a secret squad of crime-fighting pigeons? It’s true! With master of disguise Rock Pigeon, bendy Tumbler, strong Frillback and super-finder Homey, the REAL PIGEONS will solve any mystery and fight any bad guy to keep the city safe!

Perfect for fans of Aaron Blabey’s Bad Guys and Dav Pilkey’s Dog Man books, the Real Pigeons series is a hilariously silly and highly visual introduction to the joys of reading and crime-fighting for readers 6+.


In Real Pigeons Fight Crime, Rock and his mystery-solving friends will tackle their first caseload: Why have all the breadcrumbs disappeared? Who on earth is kidnapping bats? And can the pigeons avert a dinner disaster??

Review

The Real Pigeons are a crimefighting squad of city birds, each with a unique Pigeon Power. Grandpouter is the patriarch in charge of super-strong Frillback, extra-bendy Tumbler, navigational expert Homey and the newest recruit, Rock, a master of disguise.

Real Pigeons Fight Crime is the first instalment in the Real Pigeons series, with a trio of short, illustrated mysteries that will make you fall in love with these feathered protectors. The Pigeons meet regularly in a bin, endure long stakeouts and enact creative plans to vanquish breadcrumb thieves, protect the park bats and avert disaster at a food-truck fair.

Each story is divided into manageable chapters with a genuine mystery to solve, and quirky surprises such as a monster crow, a fortune-telling budgerigar, a walking scarecrow and more. Text and pictures work together seamlessly, with comic sequences, graphic dialogue, funny captions, exuberant visual humour and word play.

By the end of this first book, crow-power conservative Jungle Crow and fame-obsessed Mega Bat are shaping up to be excellent and not-too-scary nemeses. I can’t wait to witness more of the Real Pigeons’ ingenuity, bravery, teamwork, and general silliness. Readers aged 6+ with a sense of humour, a love of animals and sleuthing skills will adore this entertaining new series.


Leanne Hall is a children’s and YA specialist at Readings Kids. She also writes books for children and young adults.

This item is in-stock and will ship in 1-2 business days

Our stock data is updated overnight, and availability may change throughout the day for in-demand items. Please call the relevant shop for the most current stock information. Prices are subject to change without notice.

Sign in or become a Readings Member to add this title to a wishlist.