Dark Rise

C.S. Pacat

Dark Rise
  • Format
  • Publisher
  • Country
  • Published
  • Pages
  • ISBN

Dark Rise

C.S. Pacat


The ancient world of magic is no more. Its heroes are dead, its halls are ruins, and its great battles between Light and Dark are forgotten. Only the Stewards remember. For centuries they have kept vigil, sworn to protect humanity if the Dark King ever returns.

Sixteen-year-old dock boy Will is on the run in London, pursued by the men who killed his mother. When an old servant urges him to seek out the Stewards, Will is ushered into a secret world, where he must train to fight for the Light in the oncoming war.

As the Dark King’s return looms, reborn warriors begin to draw battle lines. But when the young descendants of Light and Dark step into their destined roles, old allegiances, old enmities and old flames are awakened. Will must stand with the last heroes of the Light to prevent the calamity that destroyed their world from returning to destroy his own.

Dark Rise is the first book in a thrilling new YA fantasy series from bestselling Australian author CS Pacat.

‘Beautiful, classical and deliciously dark.’ - Jay Kristoff


Someone is trying to kill Will. They already murdered his mother months ago, and now they’re hunting him. Disguised as a dock boy in 19th-century London, Will is almost captured, but escapes with the help of an old family servant, who bears a desperate final message from Will’s mother: find the Stewards. They will protect him.

Suddenly, Will enters a magical world of destined birthrights, chivalric orders, warriors reborn, ancient magic and even more ancient evils. Eons ago, there was a Dark King who almost engulfed the world in terror. Though he was defeated, he is rising again. The chessboard is being set: light and dark, queens and pawns – all will have a part to play, and Will, seemingly the most vital of all.

Thus begins C.S. Pacat’s epic new YA fantasy series, which will undoubtedly delight readers of high fantasy classics such as Lord of the Rings. Will is one of several characters we follow, including Violet, a merchant’s daughter who unexpectedly teams up with Will, and Katherine, a young woman engaged to a nefarious Lord. Then there’s James, whose sharp tongue scorches the page.

Pacat has stated this is her take on the ‘English pastoral fantasy’ (yes, the title is a deliberate nod to The Dark Is Rising) but for readers who never felt they truly belonged in those stories. The set-up may feel familiar, but it’s obvious that Pacat, a master of finding the grey in the black-and-white, is gearing up to really explore the moral complexities facing each of these characters as agents in the coming battle.

Adventure, suspense, betrayal, desire – this book has it all. Make sure to have some tissues on hand while reading, and some fellow readers to text when you finish the book. The final chapter will have you incoherently screaming for the next instalment, and I only pray Pacat won’t keep us waiting for too long.

For ages 14+.

Jackie Tang is the editor of Readings Monthly.

This item is in-stock and will ship in 2-3 business days

Please note, our stock data is updated overnight, and availability may change throughout the day. Prices are subject to change without notice.

Sign in or become a Readings Member to add this title to a wishlist.