The Gate

Kurt Elling

The Gate
4 February 2011

The Gate

Kurt Elling

The Gate is the Ellings follow up to his Grammy Winning Dedicated to You, many naming it his strongest of albums and perhaps the finest of his career. Produced by Don Was (Rolling Stones, Bonnie Raitt, Bob Dylan), The Gate is a musical collection in which boundaries cease to exist, a sensibility enhanced by Was who had expressed the desire to work with Elling an opportunity which Elling found irresistible.

Kurt Elling is among the world’s foremost jazz vocalists. He has been named “Male Singer of the Year” by the Jazz Journalists Association on half a dozen occasions in the past ten years, and during the same interval has been the perennial winner of the DownBeat Critics Poll. He is also a Grammy winner (as mentioned with Dedicated to You), and every record he has made has been Grammy nominated.

Elling has toured Australia recently, with his continual journeys to our shores helping to create a solid fanbase of jazz lovers who can’t get enough of his truly divine voice. Elling’s rich baritone spans four octaves and features both astonishing technical mastery and emotional depth. His command of rhythm, texture, phrasing, and dynamics is more like a virtuoso jazz instrumentalist than a vocalist. His repertoire includes original compositions and modern interpretations of standards, all of which are springboards for inspired improvisation, scatting and spoken word.

Track Listing:

  1. Matte Kudasai
  2. Steppin’ Out
  3. Come Running To Me
  4. Norwegian Wood
  5. Blue In Green
  6. Samurai Cowboy
  7. After The Love Is Gone
  8. Golden Lady
  9. Nighttown, Lady Bright


Kurt Elling can woo you with a tender ballad one minute, then just as easily blast you with some rapid-fire scatting. Here, he comes across as sincere, playful and ultimately very charismatic – his fans will be truly rapt with this new album. The Gate is all about precise arrangements and wonderful vocals offering great phrasing and dynamics. His version of Joe Jackson’s Steppin’ Out and the Beatles’ Norwegian Wood are full of texture and tone and very satisfying. Fans will not be disappointed.

This item is not currently in-stock. It can be ordered online and is expected to ship in approx 4 weeks

Our stock data is updated periodically, and availability may change throughout the day for in-demand items. Please call the relevant shop for the most current stock information. Prices are subject to change without notice.

Sign in or become a Readings Member to add this title to a wishlist.