American Kid

Patty Griffin

American Kid
17 May 2013

American Kid

Patty Griffin

This is Patty’s first new album of self-penned songs in 5 years. ‘American Kid,’ much of which Griffin says “was written to honour my father,” returns to typical Patty Griffin territory, which is to say that it features a group of remarkably powerful, personal and unpredictable songs arranged and performed in a style that doesn’t entirely repeat anything she’s done on her previous albums while drawing on all of them.

Patty’s songs move effortlessly from straightforward folk to gospel-tinged ballads right on through to unabashed rock and roll anthems, defying attempts to pigeon-hole her into a genre.

Track Listing:


  1. Wherever You Wanna Go
  2. Don’t Let Me Die In Florida
  3. Ohio
  4. Wild Old Dog
  5. Mom and Dad’s Waltz
  6. Faithful Son
  7. Highway Song
  8. That Kind Of Lonely
  9. Irish Boy
  10. Get Ready Marie
  11. Not A Bad Man
  12. Gonna Miss You When Your Gone



Patty Griffin is an artist I have been following (obsessing about, really) ever since I heard her debut Living With Ghosts in 1996. She is quite simply one of my favourite singer-songwriters; her lyrics and voice speak to me like very few others.

American Kid is Griffin’s first album of original songs in six years, and it’s reminiscent of her earlier work. That is, it’s acoustic in nature, with stripped back instrumentation that allows her incredibly powerful voice to shine.

An extra treat for fans is the presence of her beau (some say husband) Robert Plant, with whom she records as The Band of Joy. Their duet ‘Ohio’ is a beautiful thing.

Welcome back, Patty. Now how about another tour?

Dave Clarke

This item is not currently in-stock. It can be ordered online and is expected to ship in approx 4 weeks

Our stock data is updated periodically, and availability may change throughout the day for in-demand items. Please call the relevant shop for the most current stock information. Prices are subject to change without notice.

Sign in or become a Readings Member to add this title to a wishlist.