Our children’s & YA top 10 bestsellers of the week

  1. The Ice Monster by David Walliams & Tony Ross
  2. All the Ways to be Smart by Allison Colpoys & Davina Bell
  3. Wundersmith: The Calling of Morrigan Crow (Nevermoor Book 2) by Jessica Townsend
  4. The Meltdown (Diary of a Wimpy Kid Book 13) by Jeff Kinney
  5. Lenny’s Book of Everything by Karen Foxlee
  6. Tales from the Inner City by Shaun Tan
  7. Night Walk by Alison Binks
  8. Tricky’s Bad Day by Alison Lester
  9. A Winter’s Promise (The Mirror Visitor Book One) by Christelle Dabos (translated by Hildegarde Serle)
  10. Wakestone Hall (Stella Montgomery Book 3) by Judith Rossell

Some wonderful gift ideas for young people appear in last week’s list of bestselling children’s and YA books.

If you’re looking to buy for a child in primary school, you might be temped by a funny new David Walliams tale for 8+ (The Ice Monster), the latest Diary of a Wimpy Kid misadventure for ages 7+ (The Meltdown), a strange and beautiful collection of illustrated stories from Shaun Tan for ages 10+ (Tales from the Inner City) or a charming mystery set in a boarding school for ages 9+ (Wakestone Hall).

Jessica Townsend has also released the second book in her enchanting fantasy series for ages 9+, Wundersmith: The Calling of Morrigan Crow, and our booksellers can’t stop raving about Karen Foxlee’s new novel, Lenny’s Book of Everything, which is recommended for ages 10 through to adults.

Picture book lovers will be temped by three new releases from Australian authors. All the Ways to be Smart is a joy-filled pick for ages 2+, Night Walk is a gentle and captivating tale of a nighttime adventure for ages 3+, and Tricky’s Bad Day is the new delightful, rhyming offering from legendary author Alison Lester.

(In related and exciting news, Lester was recently named the winner of the 2018 Melbourne Prize for Literature 2018!)

Finally, A Winter’s Promise is the first book in a thrilling new fantasy epic from French author Christelle Dabos. It’s perfect for fans of Cornelia Funke and Scott Westerfeld.

The Ice Monster

The Ice Monster

David Walliams, Tony Ross

$22.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...