Chris Gordon is a finalist for Bookseller of the Year 2021

We’re delighted that our Programming and Events Manager Chris Gordon has been shortlisted for this year’s ABA Bookseller of the Year Awards! These awards recognise booksellers for their performance within their own bookshops, along with their achievements within the book industry and throughout their local community.

Apart from being a tremendous asset in her Readings role, Chris Gordon sits on a number of boards including those of the Emerging Writers Festival, Victorian Women’s Trust, and The Readings Foundation. She was also one of the founding members of the Stella Prize and, over the years, has also been a judge for various literary awards. It’s truly a wonder how much time and expertise she generously contributes to the communities around her. We’re especially grateful to Chris for her dedication to sharing voices online over the last twelve months. Her unending enthusiasm was invaluable to our ability to continue sharing a love of literature during the pandemic.

Readings Manager Director Mark Rubbo commented: ‘15 years ago, or thereabouts, Chris Gordon announced that she’d like to work for Readings and we haven’t been apart since. Fortunately the role of events manager was open; she had big shoes to fill but stepped into them with the charm and confidence she’s shown in the role ever since. Readers, authors, publishers and colleagues have loved working with Chris over all these years. For any event manager, and especially someone working in Victoria, the past 15 months have been particularly challenging, but Chris didn’t let that deter her and during lockdown presented over 100 Zoom events and now is taking us gradually back normality.’


Gordon has been shortlisted for this award alongside Andree Magnusson (Language International Bookshop), Kate Frawley (The Sun Bookshop), Kathryn Henry (Harry Hartog Woden and Harry Hartog ANU), Melanie Peacock (Constant Reader Bookshop), and Michael Earp (The Little Bookroom). Congratulations to all the finalists!

The winners of the 2021 ABA Bookseller of the Year Awards will be announced on Sunday, 20 June.

One: Pot, Pan, Planet

One: Pot, Pan, Planet

Anna Jones

$49.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...