Recommended true crime

 Read reviewThe Devil's Grip

The Devil’s Grip

Neal Drinnan

From the bucolic majesty, privilege and snobbery of the Western District's prized pastoral lands and dynasties to the bleak, loveless underworld of orphanages, rodeo stables and homeless shelters, The Devil's...

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Jane: A Murder

Jane: A Murder

Maggie Nelson

Tells the story of the life and death of Maggie Nelson's aunt Jane, who was murdered in 1969, via a collage of poetry and prose.

$24.95Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Pretty Girl Killer

The Pretty Girl Killer

Andrew Byrne

The complete true story of one of the world's most horrifying serial killers, who terrorised both Australia and America

$34.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

My Friend Dahmer

My Friend Dahmer

Derf Backderf, Marc Meyers

You only think you know this story. In 1991, Jeffrey Dahmer-the most notorious serial killer since Jack the Ripper-seared himself into the American consciousness.

$24.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Central Park Five

The Central Park Five

Sarah Burns

The Central Park Five holds a reflective mirror up to our present day, going back to another period of rampant race-baiting, racially motivated police misconduct and the point at which Donald Trump made his first foray into US...

$22.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Darkest Web

The Darkest Web

Eileen Ormsby

Hitmen for hire, drugs for sale. Inside the dangerous world that lurks beneath the bright, friendly light of your internet screen

$22.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Chaos

Chaos

Tom O'Neill, Dan Piepenbring

In those two dark nights in Los Angeles, O'Neill finds the story of California in the sixties: when charlatans mixed with prodigies, free love was as possible as brainwashing, and utopia-or dystopia-was just an acid trip away.

$35.00Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewBowraville

Bowraville

Dan Box

From the creator of the Walkley Award-winning podcast comes the story of a small Australian town, the murders of three children and a desperate fight for justice.

$34.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Mandatory Murder

Mandatory Murder

Steven Schubert

A compelling true story of homicide and injustice in an outback town

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewFurious Hours: Murder, Fraud and the Last Trial of Harper Lee

Furious Hours: Murder, Fraud and the Last Trial of Harper Lee

Casey Cep

The stunning true story of an Alabama serial killer, and the trial that obsessed the author of To Kill a Mockingbird in the years after the publication of her classic novel - a complicated and difficult time in her life...

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Say Nothing

Say Nothing

Patrick Radden Keefe

From award-winning New Yorker staff writer Patrick Radden Keefe, a stunning, intricate narrative about a notorious killing in Northern Ireland and its devastating repercussions.

$61.95Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Queen

The Queen

Josh Levin

The Queen is the never-before-told story of a beguilingly complex American character, lost in the rush to create a vicious stereotype. For fans of incredible investigative writing in the vein of David Grann and John...

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Suicide Bride

The Suicide Bride

Tanya Bretherton

From the author of the acclaimed THE SUITCASE BABY - shortlisted for the Ned Kelly and Nib awards - comes the chilling story of a charlatan, a murder-suicide, and a family tree so twisted that it sprouts monsters.

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewThe Arsonist

The Arsonist

Chloe Hooper

On the day that became known as Black Saturday, one man deliberately lit two fires near the small town of Churchill, Gippsland, then stood on the roof of his house and watched the flames. The Arsonist, by the acclaimed author of...

$34.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

I'll Be Gone in the Dark

I’ll Be Gone in the Dark

Michelle McNamara

For more than ten years, a mysterious and violent predator committed fifty sexual assaults in Northern California before moving south, where he perpetrated ten sadistic murders. Then he disappeared, eluding capture by multiple...

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewWaiting for Elijah

Waiting for Elijah

Kate Wild

In 2009, in the NSW country town of Armidale, a mentally ill young man is shot dead by a police officer. Senior Constable Andrew Rich claims he ‘had no choice' other than to shoot 24-year-old Elijah Holcombe - Elijah had run...

$35.00Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewTrace: Who Killed Maria James?

Trace: Who Killed Maria James?

Rachael Brown

The riveting inside story of a journalist's cold-case investigation of a shocking murder.

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

In Cold Blood

In Cold Blood

Truman Capote

Truman Capote's In Cold Blood is both a masterpiece of journalism and a powerful crime thriller. Inspired by a 300-word article in The New York Times, Capote spent six years exploring and writing the story...

$12.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil

Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil

John Berendt

John Berendt's sharply observed, suspenseful, and witty narrative reads like a thoroughly engrossing novel, and yet it is a work of nonfiction. Berendt skillfully interweaves a hugely entertaining first-person account of life in...

$22.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Wedderburn: A True Tale of Blood and Dust

Wedderburn: A True Tale of Blood and Dust

Maryrose Cuskelly

The story of a grisly triple murder in Central Victoria in October 2014 - contemporary Australian true crime at its best.   

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewThe Family

The Family

Chris Johnston, Rosie Jones

A powerful work of investigative journalism that reveals the legacy of a notorious cult.

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Joe Cinque's Consolation

Joe Cinque’s Consolation

Helen Garner

In October 1997, a clever young student at the ANU murdered her boyfriend. She and her best friend were later charged with murder. Garner followed the trial in the ACT Supreme Court. This book is about how and why Joe Cinque died....

$24.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewLoose Units

Loose Units

Paul F. Verhoeven

Part father-son story, part true crime, Loose Units is a race through the underbelly of policing as ex-cop John Verhoeven tells all to his son Paul about the crimes, the characters and the pitch-black humour.

$34.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Murder in Mississippi

Murder in Mississippi

John Safran

This is a dazzling adventure in crime, race and genre. Funny and frightening, challenging and bizarre, Safran has written exactly the sort of idiosyncratic book one would have hoped, and revealed himself as a talented prose writer...

$22.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Journalist And The Murderer

The Journalist And The Murderer

Janet Malcolm

In 1979, a journalist met a murderer, MacDonald, and decided to write the story of his crime, claiming that it would work in his defence. However, the resulting story was an indictment of the crime and the mind of its perpatrator....

$22.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Don’t see anything you like? Search our catalogue of over a million books.