Yes No Maybe So by Becky Albertalli & Aisha Saeed

Written by two of the most amazing modern young adult (YA) authors, Becki Albertalli (Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda, now also available in a film tie-in edition called Love, Simon) and Aisha Saeed (Amal Unbound), Yes No Maybe So is the teen-political/rom-com you didn’t know you wanted – but most definitely need – in your life.

Sixteen-year-old Jamie Goldberg is content helping his local democratic candidate’s election campaign behind the scenes – and given his tendency to vomit when speaking to strangers, he believes an unseen role is probably for the best. However, when his mother volunteers him for door knocking to practise his public speaking skills before his toast at his sister’s bat mitzvah, Jamie is forced to confront his fears – all while he falls steadily in love with his canvassing partner and old childhood friend Maya. But Maya is more concerned with Ramadan, her parent’s separation and the departure of her best friend for university than volunteering with some awkward boy she barely remembers.

In this wonderfully warm novel, Albertalli and Saeed bring us not only a story of hope and resistance in the face of adversity, but also one of the cutest and most truthful teenage romances in recent YA. This book will resonate with the optimist (and the romantic!) in us all, and it deftly explores issues such as racism, cross-cultural romance, self-confidence and helplessness with a grace and humour that will keep you engaged until the final page. Suitable for fans of Albertalli and Saeed’s past works, as well as anyone looking for something optimistic in our current political climate. Recommended for readers aged 13+.


Ngaire Bogemann works as a bookseller at Readings Kids.

 Read review
Yes No Maybe So

Yes No Maybe So

Becky Albertalli, Aisha Saeed

$17.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...