The Explorer by Katherine Rundell

Following a plane crash, four children are left to fend for themselves alone in the Amazon. They forage for fruit and bugs to eat, find shelter and build a raft as they try to look after each other in a frightening and completely unfamiliar environment. I should also mention that they rescue an adorable baby sloth. In an attempt to find a way home, the group follows a map found in an old cigar tin to a place where they encounter a man of mystery and a magnificent secret of the jungle. Readers will feel completely immersed in the magnificent jungle and will learn plenty of fascinating titbits about the Amazon wildlife and environment. The book is extremely thoughtful, yet completely addictive and exhilarating. It has a classic feel and is absolutely perfect for readers of Michael Morpurgo’s books or those of us who adored Eva Ibbotson’s Journey To The River Sea. A great read for all readers aged 9+.


Kim Gruschow is the children’s book buyer at Readings St Kilda.