Little Gem by Anna Zobel

When student witch Gem attempts a travelling spell to go to the classroom next door, she is very surprised to find herself in a seaside town, and even more surprised to learn that her spell has sent her 100 years into the future! Little Gem is welcomed by the town, and even though some of her spells go wrong she may be of some help after all. There are rumours of a beast – and the local weatherman has disappeared – so Gem teams up with her new friends to figure out what is going on!

This is a lovely book from a Melbourne author. There are gorgeous little pictures throughout and I was so pleased to learn there will be more books in this series. Little Gem is a sweet adventure with shades of Kiki’s Delivery Service. It’s the kind of book that is perfect for a family reading aloud and will also be a hit with newly independent readers. Fans of Sally Rippin’s Polly and Buster series will love this one! For ages 7+.


Kim Gruschow is the children’s book buyer at Readings St Kilda.

 Read review
Little Gem

Little Gem

Anna Zobel

$14.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...