Burn

Melanie Saward

Burn
Format
Paperback
Publisher
Affirm Press
Country
Australia
Published
29 August 2023
Pages
304
ISBN
9781922848482

Burn

Melanie Saward

A poignant and powerful novel about a fire-obsessed Indigenous boy living on the margins - from an electrifying new First Nations voice in Australian fiction, Melanie Saward. For fans of Craig Silvey's Jasper Jones, Tara June Winch, Tony Birch and Melissa Lukashenko.

When a tragic bushfire puts two kids in hospital, Indigenous teenager Andrew knows the police will come after him first. But Andrew almost wants to be caught, because at least it might make his dad come and rescue him from suburban Brisbane and his neglectful mother.

Growing up in small-town Tasmania, Andrew struggled at home, at school, at everything. The only thing that distracted or excited him was starting little fires. Flames boosted his morale and purified his thoughts, and they were the only thing in his life he could control. Until one day things got out of hand, and Andrew was forced to leave everything behind.

Now as the police close in and Andrew runs out of people to turn to, he must decide whether he can put his faith in himself to find a way forward.

Burn is an affecting, powerful novel about prejudice and growing up on the margins from exciting new Australian voice Melanie Saward.

This item is in-stock at 8 shops and will ship in 3-4 days

Our stock data is updated periodically, and availability may change throughout the day for in-demand items. Please call the relevant shop for the most current stock information. Prices are subject to change without notice.

Sign in or become a Readings Member to add this title to a wishlist.