The Swan Book

Alexis Wright

The Swan Book
Giramondo Publishing Co
1 May 2023

The Swan Book

Alexis Wright

Originally published in 2014, Alexis Wright's classic novel The Swan Book is being rereleased in a new edition designed by Jenny Grigg.

Accompanies the April release of Praiseworthy, Wright's first work of fiction since 2014.

The Swan Book is set in the future, with Aboriginal people still living under the Intervention in the north, in an environment fundamentally altered by climate change. It follows the life of a mute young woman called Oblivia, the victim of gang rape by petrol-sniffing youths, from the displaced community where she lives in a hulk, in a swamp filled with rusting boats, and thousands of black swans, to her marriage to Warren Finch, the first Aboriginal president of Australia, and her elevation to the position of First Lady, confined to a tower in a flooded and lawless southern city. The Swan Book offers an intimate awareness of the realities facing Aboriginal people; the energy and humour in her writing, which draws freely on myth and legend, finds hope in the bleakest situations.

The Swan Book was the winner of the ALS Gold Medal and the Kate Challis RAKA Award, and shortlisted for Miles Franklin Literary Award, Stella Prize, NSW Premier's and Victorian Premier's Literary Awards.

This item is in-stock at 6 shops and will ship in 3-4 days

Our stock data is updated periodically, and availability may change throughout the day for in-demand items. Please call the relevant shop for the most current stock information. Prices are subject to change without notice.

Sign in or become a Readings Member to add this title to a wishlist.