Piano Concerto No.1, Op.15: Study score

Johannes Brahms

Piano Concerto No.1, Op.15: Study score
Petrucci Library Press
1 August 2022

Piano Concerto No.1, Op.15: Study score

Johannes Brahms

This title is printed to order. This book may have been self-published. If so, we cannot guarantee the quality of the content. In the main most books will have gone through the editing process however some may not. We therefore suggest that you be aware of this before ordering this book. If in doubt check either the author or publisher’s details as we are unable to accept any returns unless they are faulty. Please contact us if you have any questions.

Composed in 1858, Brahms’ first concerto was given its premiere in Hanover’s Royal Theater on January 22, 1859 with the 25-year-old composer as soloist and the orchestra was conducted by Joseph Joachim. The new work got a cold reception in Hanover and a similar reaction was the response to the Leipzg performance 5 days later with the far more professional Gewandhaus orchestra. Undaunted, the work was received with great applause at the third performance in March, given in Hamburg. The concerto has been a staple of the concert repertoire for piano and orchestra ever since.

The study score offered here is a corrected edition prepared by Clinton Nieweg and Robert Sutherland from the composer’s manuscript, the first editions and other authoritative sources. The large conductor’s score and orchestral parts are also available from Serenissima Music.

This item is not currently in-stock. It can be ordered online and is expected to ship in 7-14 days

Our stock data is updated periodically, and availability may change throughout the day for in-demand items. Please call the relevant shop for the most current stock information. Prices are subject to change without notice.

Sign in or become a Readings Member to add this title to a wishlist.