The winners of the Environment Award for Children’s Literature 2018

The Wilderness Society has revealed the winners of this year’s Environment Award for Children’s Literature. This award is presented annually to fiction and nonfiction books that ‘foster a love of wild places and wildlife in young Australians’ and ‘encourage a sense of responsibility for our natural world’.

Here are the winners for all three categories…

Non-fiction (joint winners)

Rock Pool Secrets by Narelle Oliver & Coral Sea Dreaming by Kim Michelle Toft

Rock Pool Secrets features beautiful linocut artwork by award-winning author/illustrator Narelle Oliver and includes big, easy-to-use flaps and a glossary of rock pool creatures. For ages 3+

In Kim Michelle Toft’s Coral Sea Dreaming, the reef at night comes to life and an array of extraordinary creatures get busy creating a spectacular underwater symphony. For ages 2+

Picture Fiction

Florette by Anna Walker

Mae has just moved to from the country to the city and is having a hard time with her new environment. She’s desperate to find some greenery in the centre of Paris, and eventually finds a place that inspires her. A stunning celebration of creativity, resilience and the power of nature. For ages 3+


Wombat Warriors by Samantha Wheeler

When Mouse’s parents are unexpectedly called overseas, she is sent to stay with her long lost Aunt Evie on a sheep farm in South Australia where she makes a new friend – a wombat called Miss Pearl! Mouse soon learns that not everyone in the area loves wombats, including Aunt Evie’s landlord, a sheep farmer who destroys them on sight. Can Mouse find her voice in time to keep her furry friends safe? Wombat Warriors is a thrilling eco-adventure for young readers. For ages 8+

Find out more about the Environment Award for Children’s Literature here.

 Read review
Cover image for Florette


Anna Walker

In stock at 5 shops, ships in 3-4 daysIn stock at 5 shops