The Wainwright Golden Beer Prize longlist 2018

The Wainwright Golden Beer Book Prize is awarded annually to the book which most successfully reflects the ethos of renowned nature writer Alfred Wainwright’s work, to inspire readers to explore the outdoors and to nurture a respect for the natural world.

This year’s longlist features a children’s book for the first time and a book by two-time Wainwright Golden Beer Book Prize winner John Lewis-Stempel.

Here are the longlisted books for 2018:

Chair of judges, Julia Bradbury comments: ‘Time spent outdoors in nature and green spaces is well known to have a positive impact on our physical health and mental wellbeing. I feel that these books play a vital role in encouraging people to get out there to enjoy and appreciate our natural world up close. It’s a privilege to help to recognize and promote nature writing and the fantastic authors and illustrators working in this genre’

The prize is supported by White Lion Publishing, publisher of the Wainwright Guides, Wainwright Golden Beer, the Wainwright estate and in partnership with the National Trust. The winner will receive a cheque for £5000.

The 2018 shortlist will be announced on 5 July, with the winner to be revealed on 2 August and receive a cheque for £5000. Find out more about the Wainwright Golden Beer Book Prize here.

The Lost Words

The Lost Words

Jackie Morris, Robert Macfarlane

$49.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...