The Victorian Premier’s Literary Awards Shortlists 2012

The shortlisted titles for this year’s Victorian Premier’s Literary Awards have been announced.


A big congratulations to all the authors and publishers. This year’s shortlist features plenty of favourites including Anna Funder, Gillian Mears, Frank Moorhouse and Alice Pung. All category winners will go in the running to win the Victorian Prize for Literature, worth $100,000.

Here are the shortlisted titles for each category:

Vance Palmer Prize for Fiction

Nettie Palmer Prize for Non-fiction

Prize for Writing for Young Adults

CJ Dennis Prize for Poetry

Louis Esson Prize for Drama

  • National Interest by Aiden Fennessy
  • A Golem Story by Lally Katz
  • Boxman by Daniel Keene

As part of the Emerging Writer’s Festival earlier this year the 2012 Victorian Premier’s Literary Award for an unpublished manuscript was awarded to The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion. Text Publishing have snapped up this book as well as two other titles from Simsion.

Don’t forget to vote for your favourite book to win this year’s People’s Choice Award.

For more information on the awards please visit the Wheeler Centre website.