The Kibble and Dobbie Awards 2013 Shortlists

The shortlists for this year’s Kibble Literary Awards have been announced.

The Nita B. Kibble Literary Awards have celebrated Australia’s women writers for 20 years. The awards commemorate the trail-blazing Nita B. Kibble (1879-1962), the first female librarian at the State Library of New South Wales who was employed in 1899 after her signature was mistaken for a man’s when she applied for a junior position.

The shortlisted authors for the Kibble Literary Award ($30,000) for the work of an established Australian woman writer are:

  • The Beloved by Annah Faulkner
  • Like a House on Fire by Cate Kennedy
  • Questions of Travel by Michelle de Kretser
  • The shortlisted authors for the Dobbie Literary Award ($5,000) for a first-published work are:

  • Floundering by Romy Ash
  • Toyo:A Memoir by Lily Chan
  • The Burial Courtney Collins

  • Read more about the awards here.