The Inaugural Stella Prize Longlist 2013

The Stella Prize have released their first-ever longlist featuring multi-award winning authors alongside new talent.


Named after one of Australia’s most important female authors, Stella Maria Miles Franklin (1879–1954), the Stella Prize celebrates Australian women’s contribution to literature, open to both fiction and non-fiction. This year’s judges – writer and critic Kerryn Goldsworthy, author Kate Grenville, actor and creator Claudia Karvan, bookseller Fiona Stager and ABC broadcaster Rafael Epstein – have selected 12 books for the inaugural Stella Prize longlist including a ‘thankfully unafraid and resonant debut’ from Amy Espeseth, ‘a big, sweeping narrative for lovers of Literature with a capital L’ from Michelle de Kretser, and many more.

Here is the Stella Prize longlist in full:

The judges will announce the shortlist on Wednesday 20 March.

Click here to read more about the Stella Prize.

 Read review
Questions of Travel

Questions of Travel

Michelle De Kretser

$22.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...