The best psychological thrillers from the first half of 2018

Our digital marketing manager Lian Hingee shares the best psychological thrillers of the year, so far!


psychhouseswap

The House Swap by Rebecca Fleet

The House Swap is a slow-burning domestic noir that will appeal to readers who enjoyed the slow unravelling of relationships in books like Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train. When the opportunity arises to participate in a house-swap, Caroline and Francis don’t hesitate. A holiday represents a fresh start and the chance to patch up a marriage fractured by infidelity and addiction. However, it’s not long before it becomes clear that the other half of the house-swap equation isn’t the anonymous stranger that they expected, but a sinister figure from Caro’s past.


psychescaperoom

The Escape Room by Megan Goldin

If the thought of being stuck in an enclosed space gives you the cold sweats, then Megan Goldin’s The Escape Room will definitely keep you up all night. Four ruthless, high-flying executives find themselves locked in an escape room as part of a team-building exercise. The problem is that one of them is a killer determined to make the others pay for profiting from an industry that trades on lies, intimidation and harassment.


psychfinddark

Find You in the Dark by Nathan Ripley

A compelling debut with a highly original premise, Find You in the Dark is the story of a man who lives a double life. Martin Reese is a quintessential family man who spends his spare time indulging in the rather macabre hobby of researching serial killers. He likes to figure out where they buried the bodies, and then anonymously call the police to share the information and mock them for their incompetence. Unfortunately for Martin, Detective Sandra Whittal isn’t convinced that he’s not responsible for the murders himself and is determined to track him down. It turns out she may be the lesser of two evils, as unbeknownst to Martin – he also has a disgruntled serial killer on his tail.


psychreeve

The House on Half Moon Street by Alex Reeve

The House on Half Moon Street is a wonderfully atmospheric thriller set in Victorian London. Leo Stanhope was born ‘Charlotte’, daughter of a respected reverend. After fleeing his family home at the tender age of 15, Leo has made a life for himself as a coroner’s assistant. When his lover Maria is found dead, Leo is accused of her murder and must risk everything – including the closely-guarded secret of his former identity – to bring the real killer to justice.


psychmurdered

A Guide For Murdered Children by Sarah Sparrow

Don’t be fooled by the bubblegum pink cover – A Guide For Murdered Children is a genre-busting, psychological thriller. Author Sparrow poses this question: What if the souls of murdered children were able to return, inhabiting bodies of recently dead grown-ups for the sole purpose of seeking revenge on those that killed them? With a psychic cop, support groups for slain innocents, and an etiquette guide to cohabitating in the one body, this pick is for fans of Shirley Jackson and Stephen King.


psychperfmoth

The Perfect Mother by Aimee Molloy

Already confirmed for a big screen adaptation, The Perfect Mother is the kind of twisty, engrossing thriller that’s perfect for readers who loved the crime element of Liane Moriarty’s Big Little Lies. A mother’s group are enjoying a well-deserved night off when one of their babies is stolen from his crib. The ensuing police investigation uncovers a host of secrets and lies that threaten marriages and may destroy friendships.


psychgonedark

I’ll Be Gone in the Dark by Michelle McNamara

If you’re interested in reading a thriller firmly grounded in real-life, I’ll Be Gone in the Dark is the one currently keeping our booksellers up at night. The haunting story of the Golden State Killer, Michelle McNamara’s obsessively researched book is credited with helping police make an arrest after 30 years. Our marketing manager Nina Kenwood said: ‘I wanted to lock every door, check every window, hide under the bed, and keep reading all night.‘


psychdontbele

Don’t Believe It by Charlie Donlea

Don’t Believe It is for anyone who binge-watched Making a Murderer, or was addicted to the Serial podcast. Sidney Ryan is an ambitious new documentary-maker who is approached by Grace Sebold to tell her story. Grace has spent the last ten years of her life behind bars for the murder, and Sidney is determined to prove her innocence. But when the ten-part series The Girl of Sugar Beach becomes an overnight success, Sidney starts to dig a little deeper, and begins to question whether she’s helping an innocent woman, or is about to be responsible for freeing a murderer.

The Escape Room

The Escape Room

Megan Goldin

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...