The 2019 Miles Franklin Literary Award Shortlist

The shortlist for the 2019 Miles Franklin Literary Award has been announced. The award, which is Australia’s most prestigious literary prize, was established through the will of My Brilliant Career author, Miles Franklin. The prize is awarded each year to a novel which is of the highest literary merit and presents Australian life in any of its phases.

The shortlisted titles are:

Speaking on behalf of the judging panel, author and literary critic, Dr Bernadette Brennan, said: “The 2019 shortlist showcases a diverse and exciting range of Australian voices and experiences…These books celebrate, for the most part, some of the complex, disparate and urgent aspects of contemporary Australian life.”

Each of the 2019 shortlisted authors receives $5,000 from the Copyright Agency’s Cultural Fund. The 2019 winner, to be announced on 30 July, will receive $60,000 in prize money for the novel judged as being ‘of the highest literary merit’ and which presents ‘Australian life in any of its phases’.

You can buy all six shortlisted titles in a specially priced pack for $149.99 (was $177.90). Please note that due to demand there is limited stock availability over the next few days. Rest assured, we have more copies coming.

 Read review
The Lebs

The Lebs

Michael Mohammed Ahmad

$27.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...