The 2013 Women’s Prize for Fiction Shortlist

The shortlisted titles for this year’s Women’s Prize for Fiction (formerly the Orange prize) has been announced.

Launched in 1996, this Prize is awarded annually and celebrates excellence, originality and accessibility in women’s writing from throughout the world. The winner receives a cheque for £30,000 and a limited edition bronze known as a ‘Bessie’, created by the artist Grizel Niven. Both are anonymously endowed.

Here are the six shortlisted books:

  • Life After Life by Kate Atkinson
  • May We Be Forgiven by A.M Homes
  • Flight Behaviour by Barbara Kingsolver
  • Bring Up the Bodies by Hilary Mantel
  • Where’d You Go, Bernadette? by Maria Semple
  • NW by Zadie Smith
  • For more information on the shortlisted titles please visit the Women’s Prize for Fiction website.