Latest News posts

The Inky Awards shortlist 2019

The shortlists for the 2019 Inky Awards have been announced! These awards are presented by State Library Victoria (SLV) for local and international fiction, poetry, anthologies and graphic novels written for young adults. Congratulations to all the authors on the shortlist!

Check out the full list of titles below.

The titles shortlisted for the Gold Inky Award (for an Australian book) are: …

Read more ›

Readings staff share their MIFF 2019 top picks

This year’s Melbourne International Film Festival (MIFF) program is jam-packed. Stuck on what to see? Our staff share their most-anticipated films below. Pro tip: It looks like lots of people are keen to see Jim Jarmusch’s new flick, so book it while tickets last! Joanna Di Mattia recommends foreign films and a healthy dose of romance

I’ve been a regular at MIFF for over 20 years and sitting …

Read more ›

The Davitt Awards shortlist 2019

Sisters in Crime has announced a shortlist of 25 books for its 19th Davitt Awards for best crime books written by Australian women. The shortlist comprises of nine adult novels, five Young Adult (YA) novels, five children’s novels, and six non-fiction books. A remarkable 11 of these books are debut crime novels and will be battling it out for the best debut crime book award. Here are the shortl…

Read more ›

Sign up for our book clubs at Readings State Library

We are delighted to announce that bookings are now open for the next round of book clubs hosted at our State Library store. The State Library (SLV) book club was first launched at the beginning of this year and has been a great success.

Non-fiction book club

The Readings State Library Non-fiction Book Club meets on the first Wednesday of every month from 6pm–8pm. The first book club pick f…

Read more ›

Our top picks for Melbourne Writers Festival 2019

Staff share their top picks from this year’s Melbourne Writers (MWF) Festival program. We’ve compiled a list of 10 of the international guests we’re really excited to see here, and you can browse the full 2019 program here. Ellen Cregan recommends…

Kim Gordon in Conversation

Like any die-hard fan of new wave and grunge, I am a lover of Kim Gordon. I definitely want to make it to her session…

Read more ›

Readings Recommends at Melbourne Writers Festival 2019

This year at the Melbourne Writers Festival, you can see some of Readings' very own staff members share their knowledge, experiences and prowess in a range of fascinating ‘Readings Recommends’ events. All the Readings Recommends events will be held at the State Library of Victoria, Isabella Fraser Room, and all tickets are free. Prize for New Australian Fiction

The Readings Prize for New Aus

Read more ›

10 international guests to see at Melbourne Writers Festival 2019

It’s not long now until the annual Melbourne Writers Festival (MWF) – the theme of which is ‘When We Talk About Love’. Here are 10 international guests that we are particularly excited to see at this year’s Melbourne Writers Festival. You can find the full program for the 2019 Melbourne Writers Festival here.

Ben Folds

American singer-songwriter Ben Folds is widely recognised as one of th…

Read more ›