Finalists for the Melbourne Prize for Literature 2012 Announced

The finalists for the Melbourne Prize for Literature have been announced.

[missing asset] The annual Melbourne Prize runs on a three-year awards cycle, alternating between books, music and urban sculpture. 2012 sees the focus return once again to literature and the finalists in the two categories have been announced - The Melbourne Prize for Literature, which awards $60 000 to a Victorian writer for an ‘outstanding contribution to Australian literature’ and The Best Writing Award, which presents $30 000 to a Victorian writer for an outstanding work across all genres.

Judges this year are Brian Matthews, Hannie Rayson, Christos Tsiolkas, Michael Williams and our very own Mark Rubbo, and the full shortlists are as follows:

The Melbourne Prize for Literature

The Best Writing Award

All the finalists are in the running to win the $5000 Civic Choice Award, as voted by the public, of which Readings is thrilled to be a sponsor, along with Hardie Grant Books. Vote for your favourite here.

The winners will be announced on November 7.

 Read review


Tony Birch

$24.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...