Recommended travel memoirs

Soundings: Journeys in the Company of Whales

Soundings: Journeys in the Company of Whales

Doreen Cunningham

A prize-winning author's memoir about a mother and son following the migration of grey whales to Alaska

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Under a Venice Moon

Under a Venice Moon

Margaret Cameron

A completely delightful escape for anyone who has thought about running away, changing their life or taking a chance to fulfil their dream. And under the Venice moonlight . . . how could there not be romance?

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Osebol: Voices from a Swedish Village

Osebol: Voices from a Swedish Village

Marit Kapla, Peter Graves

Luminous, illuminating - lose yourself in the lives and stories of a woodland village in Sweden, at the quiet edge of a turning world

$45.00Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewWhere We Swim

Where We Swim

Ingrid Horrocks

As Ingrid Horrocks takes swims in rivers, oceans and pools around the world, she considers her relationship with water and with the world around her

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

A Field Guide To Getting Lost

A Field Guide To Getting Lost

Rebecca Solnit

Solnit's revelatory modern classic exploring philosophy, history, art and metaphysics

$22.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Uprising: Walking the Southern Alps of New Zealand

Uprising: Walking the Southern Alps of New Zealand

Nic Low

A riveting blend of nature writing, indigenous storytelling and great adventure in the NZ alps

$34.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Lost Cafe Schindler

The Lost Cafe Schindler

Meriel Schindler

A fascinating memoir in the vein of East West Street, The Lost Cafe Schindler offers a profound reflection on memory, truth, trauma and the importance of cake.

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Corfu Trilogy

The Corfu Trilogy

Gerald Durrell

Suitable for adults and children alike, this title includes three classic tales of childhood on an island paradise - My Family and Other Animals , Birds, Beasts and Relatives and The Garden of the Gods .

$35.00Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewChronicles of a Cairo Bookseller

Chronicles of a Cairo Bookseller

Nadia Wassef

The warm and winning story of opening a modern bookstore where there were none, Chronicles of a Cairo Bookseller recounts Nadia Wassef's troubles and triumphs as a founder and manager of Cairo-based Diwan.

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

When We're Not Afraid: My 12,000 km Bike-Packing Ride Through South America

When We’re Not Afraid: My 12,000 km Bike-Packing Ride Through South America

Leonie Katekar, Gregory Hill

During a difficult time in what had already been a difficult life, Leonie Katekar decided to plunge herself into the unknown, embarking on a 12,0000-kilometre solo bike-packing expedition. When We're Not...

$39.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Tracks

Tracks

Robyn Davidson

A revised, reissued edition of this prize-winning, bestselling account of one woman's solo journey across 1,700 miles of Australian Outback

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Bypass: The Story of a Road

Bypass: The Story of a Road

Michael McGirr

A classic in its own right, this personal and public memoir by one of Australia's most observant and genial writers graces our bookshelves once again.

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Lost Japan

Lost Japan

Alex Kerr

Originally written in Japanese, this book offers an insight into Japanese landscape, culture, history and future.

$24.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Wild: A Journey from Lost to Found

Wild: A Journey from Lost to Found

Cheryl Strayed (Author)

At twenty-six, Cheryl Strayed thought she had lost everything. In the wake of her mother's rapid death from cancer, her family disbanded and her marriage crumbled. With nothing to lose, she made the most impulsive decision of her...

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Adventures of a Young Naturalist

Adventures of a Young Naturalist

Sir David Attenborough

The early adventures of a young David Attenborough.  

$22.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Notes From A Small Island: Journey Through Britain

Notes From A Small Island: Journey Through Britain

Bill Bryson

In 1995, before leaving his much-loved home in North Yorkshire to move back to the States for a few years with his family, the author insisted on taking one last trip around Britain. This book tells about his experiences.

$24.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

A Year in Provence

A Year in Provence

Peter Mayle

Peter Mayle's account of his escape from the grey skies of London to the infinitely more appealing prospect of Menerbes in Provence. It has now been made into a BBC TV series starting early 1993 with John Thaw and Lyndsay Duncan.

$12.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Songlines

The Songlines

Bruce Chatwin

The songlines are the invisible pathways that criss-cross Australia, ancient tracks connecting communities and following ancient boundaries. In this magical account Chatwin recalls his travels across the length and breadth of...

$14.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Walking the Camino

Walking the Camino

Tony Kevin

In May 2006, armed only with a small rucksack and a staff, Tony Kevin, an overweight, sedentary, 63-year-old former diplomat, set off on an eight-week trek across Spain. But this was not just a very long walk - it was a...

$26.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Yoga for People Who Can't Be Bothered to Do It

Yoga for People Who Can’t Be Bothered to Do It

Geoff Dyer

From Amsterdam to Cambodia, from Rome to Indonesia, from New Orleans to Libya, and from Detroit to Ko Pha-Ngan, Geoff Dyer finds himself both floundering about in a sea of grievances and finding moments of transcendental calm.

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewNeon Pilgrim

Neon Pilgrim

Lisa Dempster

During a culture-shocked exchange year in Japan, fifteen-year-old Lisa Dempster's imagination is ignited by the story of the henro michi, an arduous 1200 kilometre Buddhist pilgrimage through the mountains of Japan. Perfectly...

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Don’t see anything you like? Search our catalogue of over a million books.