New releases

 Special priceHeroes

Heroes

Stephen Fry

The dazzling companion volume to the bestselling Mythos. There are heroes - and then there are Greek heroes

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Special priceThe Fifth Risk: Undoing Democracy

The Fifth Risk: Undoing Democracy

Michael Lewis

What are the consequences if the people given control over our government have no idea how it works? Stay tuned.

$39.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewClose to Home: Selected Writings

Close to Home: Selected Writings

Alice Pung

This delightful collection brings together Alice Pung's most loved writing, on migration, family, identity, art and more. Warm, funny, moving and unfailingly honest, this is Alice Pung at her best - an irresistible delight for...

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Golden Thread: How Fabric Changed History

The Golden Thread: How Fabric Changed History

Kassia St Clair

A new history of ingenuity from the author of The Secret Lives of Colour.

$39.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Farewell, My Orange

Farewell, My Orange

Kei Iwaki, Meredith McKinney

Winner of the Kenzaburo Oe Prize Two immigrants, Salimah and Sayuri, navigate isolation, a new language, and devastating loss on their way to a lifelong friendship. Far from her native country of Nigeria and now...

$22.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

A Different Drummer

A Different Drummer

William Melvin Kelley

A lost masterpiece, following in the footsteps of Suite Francaise, Alone in Berlin and Stoner.

$22.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Middle England

Middle England

Jonathan Coe

A witty and incisive state-of-the-nation novel from Britain's greatest satirist.    

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Widows of Malabar Hill

The Widows of Malabar Hill

Sujata Massey

1920s India: Perveen Mistry, Bombay's first female lawyer, is investigating a suspicious will on behalf of three Muslim widows living in full purdah when the case takes a turn toward the murderous. The author of the Agatha and...

$27.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Little Dancer Aged Fourteen

Little Dancer Aged Fourteen

Camille Laurens, Willard Wood

This absorbing, heartfelt work tells the story of the real dancer behind Degas's now-iconic sculpture, and the struggles of late nineteenth-century bohemian life of Paris.    

$34.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Man at the Window

Man at the Window

Robert Jeffreys

An atmospheric crime novel with a burning moral dilemma at its heart, for fans of Michael Robotham, Jane Harper and Gary Disher.

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

My Sister, the Serial Killer

My Sister, the Serial Killer

Oyinkan Braithwaite

A blackly comic novel about lies, love, Lagos, and how blood is thicker - and more difficult to get out of the carpet - than water.   

$27.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Special priceKing of the Air: The Turbulent Life of Charles Kingsford Smith

King of the Air: The Turbulent Life of Charles Kingsford Smith

Ann Blainey

Charles Kingsford Smith was the most commanding flyer of the golden age of aviation. In three short years, he broke records with his astounding and daring voyages -- the first trans-Pacific flight from America to Australia, the...

$44.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Written in History: Letters that Changed the World

Written in History: Letters that Changed the World

Simon Sebag Montefiore

A collection of the greatest letters in history, charting world-shaping events and revealing the unique personalities of some of history's most famous figures

$35.00Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Unruly Waters: How Mountain Rivers and Monsoons Have Shaped South Asia's History

Unruly Waters: How Mountain Rivers and Monsoons Have Shaped South Asia’s History

Sunil Amrith

Asia's history has been shaped by its waters. In Unruly Waters, historian Sunil Amrith reimagines Asia's history through the stories of its rains, rivers, coasts, and seas - and of the weather-watchers and engineers, mapmakers and...

$55.00Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Best American Short Stories 2018

The Best American Short Stories 2018

Roxane Gay, Heidi Pitlor

Best-selling, award-winning, pop culture powerhouse Roxane Gay guest edits this year's Best American Short Stories, the premier annual showcase for the country's finest short fiction.

$28.95Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Hazards of Time Travel

Hazards of Time Travel

Joyce Carol Oates

An ingenious dystopian novel of one young woman's resistance against the constraints of an oppressive society

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Special priceGone So Long

Gone So Long

Andre Dubus III

Andre Dubus III's first novel in a decade is a masterpiece of thrilling tension and heartrending empathy.

$39.95Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Nothing is Real: The Beatles Were Underrated And Other Sweeping Statements About Pop

Nothing is Real: The Beatles Were Underrated And Other Sweeping Statements About Pop

David Hepworth

In this wide-ranging collection of essays, Hepworth shows how it is possible to take music seriously and, at the same time, not drain the life out of it - from the legacy of the Beatles to the dramatic decline of the record...

$35.00Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Wine Reads

Wine Reads

Jay McInerney

From celebrated novelist Jay McInerney, whose extensive writing on wine has been called 'crisp, stylish and very funny' (New York Times Book Review), comes a delectable collection of great writing about wine.   

$35.00Buy now

Finding stock availability...

That Doesn't Mean What You Think It Means

That Doesn’t Mean What You Think It Means

Kathryn Petras, Ross Petras

An entertaining and informative guide to the most common 150 words even smart people use incorrectly, along with pithy forays into their fascinating etymologies and tangled histories of use and misuse --

$24.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Special price Read reviewThe Arsonist

The Arsonist

Chloe Hooper

On the day that became known as Black Saturday, one man deliberately lit two fires near the small town of Churchill, Gippsland, then sat on the roof of his house and watched the flames. The Arsonist, by the acclaimed author of The...

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Special priceAny Ordinary Day

Any Ordinary Day

Leigh Sales

As a journalist, Leigh Sales often encounters people experiencing the worst moments of their lives in the full glare of the media. But one particular string of bad news stories - and a terrifying brush with her own mortality -...

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewNormal People

Normal People

Sally Rooney

When they both earn places at Trinity College in Dublin, a connection that has grown between them lasts long into the following years. This is an exquisite love story about how a person can change another person's life - a...

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Special price Read reviewThe Lost Man

The Lost Man

Jane Harper

For readers who loved The Dry and Force of Nature, Jane Harper has once again created a powerful story of suspense, set against a dazzling landscape.

$27.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Special priceBecoming

Becoming

Michelle Obama

An intimate, powerful, and inspiring memoir by the former First Lady of the United States

$39.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewPreservation

Preservation

Jock Serong

Preservation, based on the true story of the wreck of the Sydney Cove, sees master storyteller Jock Serong turn his talents to historical narrative.

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Don’t see anything you like? Search our catalogue of over a million books.