CBCA Older Readers Notables 2020

The Man in the Water

The Man in the Water

David Burton

On his first day of year ten, Shaun sees his first dead body.

$19.95Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Devil's Ballast

Devil’s Ballast

Meg Caddy

A cutthroat and daring new YA release, featuring one of history's greatest anti-heroines.

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewThe Surprising Power of a Good Dumpling

The Surprising Power of a Good Dumpling

Wai Chim

A novel about growing up in a migrant Asian family with a mother who is suffering from mental illness from the highly commended author of Freedom Swimmer

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewThe Boy Who Steals Houses

The Boy Who Steals Houses

C.G. Drews

Can two broken boys find their perfect home? By turns heartbreaking and heartwarming, this is a gorgeously told, powerful story.

$16.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewThe Last Balfour

The Last Balfour

Cait Duggan

Iona Balfour's life is turned upside down when her beloved aunt Grizel is executed for the crime of witchcraft. Before she dies, Grizel appoints Iona as guardian of a precious family bloodstone and tells her she must flee their...

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

How it Feels to Float

How it Feels to Float

Helena Fox

A stunning, profound, deeply hopeful portrayal of living with mental illness and grief, from an exceptional new voice in YA. 

$17.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Ghost Bird

Ghost Bird

Lisa Fuller

An intriguing and gripping young adult novel by the winner of the David Unaipon award.   

$19.95Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewThe Honeyman and the Hunter

The Honeyman and the Hunter

Neil Grant

A wonderfully compelling tale of belonging and loss, of saltwater and mangroves, of migration and accepting change; a story of decisions that, once made, break through family histories like a cyclone swell.

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewAurora Rising (The Aurora Cycle 1)

Aurora Rising (The Aurora Cycle 1)

Amie Kaufman, Jay Kristoff

From the New York Times and internationally bestselling authors of The Illuminae Files comes a new science fiction epic . . .

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewIt Sounded Better in My Head

It Sounded Better in My Head

Nina Kenwood

From a debut Melbourne writer comes the big-hearted romantic comedy of the year, an addictive and joyful celebration of the awkward teen in all of us.

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewMonuments

Monuments

Will Kostakis

Monuments is the first book in an exciting new duology from YA star, Will Kostakis.

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

All That Impossible Space

All That Impossible Space

Anna Morgan

All That Impossible Space is a coming of age novel exploring toxic friendships and the balance of power between teacher and student, perfect for fans of Cath Crowley and Fiona Wood.

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewPromise Me Happy

Promise Me Happy

Robert Newton

I don't know if it's possible for people to change, not really. The way you're made up, the important stuff, I reckon you're born with that...when it matters, when it really matters, we are who we are.

$17.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewAngel Mage

Angel Mage

Garth Nix

From fantasy master Garth Nix comes a new world of angels, heroes, gunpowder and high magic.

$24.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

When the Ground is Hard

When the Ground is Hard

Malla Nunn

In this stunning and heartrending tale set in a Swaziland boarding school, two girls of different castes bond over a shared copy of Jane Eyre.

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Four Dead Queens

Four Dead Queens

Astrid Scholte

Keralie is the best pickpocket in all of the kingdoms of Quadara, but when she steals a comm disk and realizes a royal murder plot is afoot, she must learn who to trust and fast.

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Invisible Boys

Invisible Boys

Holden Sheppard

Invisible Boys is a raw, confronting YA novel that explores the complexities and trauma of rural gay identity with painful honesty, devastating consequences and, ultimately, hope.

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewThis Is How We Change The Ending

This Is How We Change The Ending

Vikki Wakefield

A gritty, ultimately triumphant novel from one of Australia's most loved YA writers, the author of award-winning Friday Brown

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Take the Shot

Take the Shot

Susan White

A hilarious book about basketball, friendship, growing up, family drama and a rare genetic disorder called Marfan Syndrome, written by debut author and clinical geneticist Sue White.

$16.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewImpossible Music

Impossible Music

Sean Williams

In an emotionally compelling tale crackling with originality, when a teen musician goes deaf, his quest to create an entirely new form of music brings him to a deeper understanding of his relationship to the hearing world, of...

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Don’t see anything you like? Search our catalogue of over a million books.