Animal adventures for young readers

The Midnight Guardians

The Midnight Guardians

Ross Montgomery

Sometimes at the darkest hour, hope shines the brightest...

$18.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewPaws

Paws

Kate Foster

At home, Alex's best friend is Kevin the cockapoo, although what he wants most of all is a friend at school. But that is harder than he ever expected. A touching story about learning that friendship isn't one size fits all and is...

$16.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewPawcasso

Pawcasso

Remy Lai

A delightful graphic novel about friendship and belonging, starring the world's most adorable dog, perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier's Guts.

$16.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

When You Trap a Tiger

When You Trap a Tiger

Tae Keller

When Lily, her sister Sam, and their mother move in with her sick grandmother, Lily traps a tiger and makes a deal with him to heal Halmoni.

$14.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Where the Wilderness Lives

Where the Wilderness Lives

Jess Butterworth, Rob Biddulph

An epic race for survival that follows four children and their dog through treacherous waterways, dense forests and the deep, dark wilderness of Wales. From author Jess Butterworth comes a beautifully written adventure story in a...

$15.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Last Bear

The Last Bear

Hannah Gold, Levi Pinfold

Imagine making friends with a polar bear... The Last Bear is perfect for readers of 8+, beautifully illustrated throughout by Levi Pinfold - winner of the Kate Greenaway Medal and illustrator of Harry Potter 20th anniversary...

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The One and Only Bob

The One and Only Bob

Katherine Applegate

Return to the unforgettable world of the Newbery Medal-winning and #1 New York Times bestselling novel The One and Only Ivan (soon to be a major motion picture) in this incredible sequel, starring Ivan's friend Bob!

$14.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewTiger Heart

Tiger Heart

Penny Chrimes

One magical friendship. One roaring adventure. The magical tale of a bold young chimney sweep and a remarkable tiger, a dangerously hypnotic ruby and a mystical land that's found across an ocean and through a storm. Perfect for...

$15.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewThe Call of the Wild

The Call of the Wild

Jack London, Melvin Burgess

Life is good for Buck in Santa Clara Valley, where he spends his days eating and sleeping in the golden sunshine. But one day a treacherous act of betrayal leads to his kidnap, and he is forced into a life of toil and danger....

$14.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewI, Cosmo

I, Cosmo

Carlie Sorosiak

Cosmo's family is falling apart. And it's up to Cosmo to keep them together. He knows exactly what to do. There's only one problem. Cosmo is a Golden Retriever.

$14.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Call of the Wild

The Call of the Wild

Jack London, Oscar Dominguez

A handsome, newly-illustrated edition of the classic Jack London adventure novel.

$27.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Music for Tigers

Music for Tigers

Michelle Kadarusman

A young violinist discovers her mother's family secretly harbour a sanctuary for extinct Tasmanian tigers in the remote Australian rainforest.

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The First (Endling, Book Two)

The First (Endling, Book Two)

Katherine Applegate

Together with her companions - loyal Tobble, brave and resourceful Khara, wise but deadly Gambler, and Renzo the thief - she is following a perilous path out of Nedarra and into the snow-covered mountains of the northern country...

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Saving Winslow

Saving Winslow

Sharon Creech

A heartwarming tale of a boy saving the life of a baby donkey, and their adventures that ensue.

$22.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Flora & Ulysses

Flora & Ulysses

Kate DiCamillo

A girl named Flora and a squirrel named Ulysses, whose life was saved by Flora after he was involved in an incident with a vacuum cleaner, team up to use Ulysses' superpowers to conquer villains and protect the weak.

$14.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewInto the Wild (Wolf Girl, Book 1)

Into the Wild (Wolf Girl, Book 1)

Anh Do, Jeremy Ley

A wildly exciting new adventure series from bestselling author Anh Do.

$15.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewThe Dog Runner

The Dog Runner

Bren MacDibble

Ella and her brother Emery are alone in a city that's starving to death. If they are going to survive, they must get away, upcountry, to find Emery's mum. But how can two kids travel such big distances across a dry, barren, and...

$16.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Brindabella

Brindabella

Ursula Dubosarsky, Andrew Joyner

From an extraordinary novelist and an award-winning illustrator comes this lyrical and unforgettable story about a boy and the untameable wildness of a hand-reared joey.

$16.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Pax

Pax

Sara Pennypacker, Jon Klassen

The moving story of the extraordinary friendship between a boy and his fox and their epic journey to be reunited. Beautifully illustrated by multi-award winner, Jon Klassen.

$14.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Wildwood

Wildwood

Colin Meloy, Carson Ellis

Now in paperback. Wildwood is a spellbinding tale full of wonder, danger, and magic that juxtaposes the thrill of a secret world and modern city life.

$22.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Baby Monkey, Private Eye

Baby Monkey, Private Eye

Brian Selznick, David Serlin

Who is Baby Monkey? He is a baby. He is a monkey. He has a job. He is Baby Monkey, Private Eye! Lost jewels? Missing pizza? Stolen spaceship? Baby Monkey can help! But can he put on his pants before the culprit gets...

$24.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewCharlotte's Web (Colour Edn)

Charlotte’s Web (Colour Edn)

E. B. White

One spring morning a little girl called Fern rescues a runt and names him Wilbur. But then Wilbur is sent to live on a farm where he meets Charlotte, a very clever and very beautiful large grey spider. They become best friends...

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewCrenshaw

Crenshaw

Katherine Applegate

The heart-warming new story about family and friendships from Newbery Medal-winner Katherine Applegate.

$14.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewThe One and Only Ivan

The One and Only Ivan

Katherine Applegate

Winner of the Newbery Medal 2013  Inspired by a true story, this is the beautifully written tale of how a mighty gorilla wins his freedom. A winning blend of humour and poignancy that will...

$14.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Because of Winn-Dixie

Because of Winn-Dixie

Kate DiCamillo

Includes discussion questions and an excerpt from Raymie Nightingale.

$15.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Watership Down

Watership Down

Richard Adams, David Parkins

Fiver was only a young rabbit, but he has a sixth sense and foresaw that disaster was about to destroy the warren. Few believed him. Led by his brother Hazel, a small band of rabbits sets out on a dangerous journey to find a safe...

$14.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Mrs Frisby and the Rats of NIMH

Mrs Frisby and the Rats of NIMH

Robert C. O'Brien

Time is running out for Mrs Frisby. She must move her family of mice before the farmer destroys their home. But her youngest son, Timothy, is too ill to survive the move. Help comes in the unexpected form of a group of mysterious,...

$14.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Special priceWhite Fang

White Fang

Jack London, Richard Adams

Born in the wilds of the freezing cold Yukon, White Fang - half-dog, half-wolf - is the only animal in the litter to survive. He soon learns the harsh laws of nature, yet buried deep inside him are the distant memories of...

$14.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewMister Cassowary

Mister Cassowary

Samantha Wheeler

City boy Flynn is taken to Mission Beach by his dad to ready his Grandad Barney's banana farm for sale.

$14.95Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Warriors #1: Into the Wild

Warriors #1: Into the Wild

Erin Hunter

The book that sparked a phenomenon and started a series that has sold more than 16 million copies-now beautifully repackaged with striking new cover art!

$14.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewLoyal Creatures

Loyal Creatures

Morris Gleitzman

In 2014 Morris Gleitzman promises to captivate his fans yet again with another heart-rending and compelling novel set in wartime. Once, Then, After and Now took us inside young people in World War Two. Loyal Creatures is the story...

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Don’t see anything you like? Search our catalogue of over a million books.