Yes No Maybe So
  • Format
  • Publisher
  • Country
  • Published
  • Pages
  • ISBN

Yes No Maybe So

Becky Albertalli, Aisha Saeed

Read an extract from the book here


From New York Times bestselling authors Becky Albertalli and Aisha Saeed comes a heart-warming, hilarious story about the power of love and resistance.

Jamie Goldberg is cool with volunteering for his local state candidate - as long as he’s behind the scenes. There’s no way he’d ever knock on doors to ask people for their votes…until he meets Maya.    Maya Rehman’s having the worst Ramadan ever. Her best friend is too busy to hang out, her summer trip is cancelled, her parents are separating and now her mother thinks the solution to her problems is political canvassing - with some awkward guy she hardly knows …     

Going door to door isn’t exactly glamorous, but maybe it’s not the worst thing in the world. After all, the polls are getting closer - and so are Maya and Jamie. Mastering local activism is one thing. Navigating the cross-cultural crush of the century is another thing entirely.

Review

Written by two of the most amazing modern young adult (YA) authors, Becki Albertalli (Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda, now also available in a film tie-in edition called Love, Simon) and Aisha Saeed (Amal Unbound), Yes No Maybe So is the teen-political/rom-com you didn’t know you wanted – but most definitely need – in your life.

Sixteen-year-old Jamie Goldberg is content helping his local democratic candidate’s election campaign behind the scenes – and given his tendency to vomit when speaking to strangers, he believes an unseen role is probably for the best. However, when his mother volunteers him for door knocking to practise his public speaking skills before his toast at his sister’s bat mitzvah, Jamie is forced to confront his fears – all while he falls steadily in love with his canvassing partner and old childhood friend Maya. But Maya is more concerned with Ramadan, her parent’s separation and the departure of her best friend for university than volunteering with some awkward boy she barely remembers.

In this wonderfully warm novel, Albertalli and Saeed bring us not only a story of hope and resistance in the face of adversity, but also one of the cutest and most truthful teenage romances in recent YA. This book will resonate with the optimist (and the romantic!) in us all, and it deftly explores issues such as racism, cross-cultural romance, self-confidence and helplessness with a grace and humour that will keep you engaged until the final page. Suitable for fans of Albertalli and Saeed’s past works, as well as anyone looking for something optimistic in our current political climate. Recommended for readers aged 13+.


Ngaire Bogemann works as a bookseller at Readings Kids.

This item is in-stock and will ship in 2-3 business days

We are currently experiencing delays in processing and delivering online orders. Click here for more information.

Please note, our stock data is updated overnight, and availability may change throughout the day. Prices are subject to change without notice.

Sign in or become a Readings Member to add this title to a wishlist.