The Spitfire Girls

Jenny Holmes

The Spitfire Girls
  • Format
  • Publisher
  • Country
  • Published
  • Pages
  • ISBN

The Spitfire Girls

Jenny Holmes

The exciting new novel following four female pilots in WWII, from Jenny Holmes, author Wedding Bells for Land Girls - for readers of Donna Douglas and Nancy Revell. ‘Anything to Anywhere!’ That’s the motto of the Air Transport Auxiliary, the brave team of female pilots who fly fighter planes between bases at the height of WWII.Mary is a driver for the ATA and although she yearns to fly a Spitfire, she fears her humble background will hold her back. After all, glamorous Angela is set to be the next ‘Atta Girl’ on recruitment posters. Bobbie learned to fly in her father’s private plane and Jean was taught the queen’s English at grammar school before joining the squad. Dedicated and resilient the three girls rule the skies- weathering storms and dodging enemy fire. Mary can only dream of joining them - until she gets the push she needs to overcome her self-doubt. Thrown together, the girls form a tight bond as they face the perils of their job. But they soon find that affairs of the heart can be just as dangerous as attacks from the skies.With all the fear and uncertainty ahead - can their friendship see them through the tests of war? A heart-warming, romantic story of friendship, camaraderie and triumph over adversity that fans of Donna Douglas, Nancy Revell and Call the Midwife will adore.

This item is not currently in-stock, but it’s available to order online.

Please note, we cannot guarantee delivery in time for Christmas after Wednesday 1 December. Click here for more information.

Please note, our stock data is updated overnight, and availability may change throughout the day. Prices are subject to change without notice.

Sign in or become a Readings Member to add this title to a wishlist.