We See the Stars

Kate van Hooft

We See the Stars
  • Format
  • Publisher
  • Country
  • Published
  • Pages
  • ISBN

We See the Stars

Kate van Hooft

‘Is that the Big Dipper?’ Mum asked. Her eyes were bright from the light in them, and they shone in the darkness more than any of the stars in the sky.

Simon is an eleven-year-old boy who lives in a world of silence, lists and numbers. He hasn’t spoken for years and he doesn’t know why.

Everyone at school thinks he’s weird and his only friends in the world are his brother Davey and Superman, who’s always there when he needs him.

One day Simon shares his Vita-Weats with Cassie, the scary girl from his class, and a friendship starts to form. And the new teacher Ms Hilcombe takes an interest in him, and suddenly he has another friend as well.

When Ms Hilcombe goes missing, only Simon knows where she is. But he has made a promise to never tell, and promises can never be broken. So now Simon is the only one who can save her.

A haunting and deeply moving novel with a brilliant voice in the tradition of The Eye of the Sheep and Jasper Jones.

Review

Simon is an 11-year-old boy living in a world of silence, lists and numbers. Rarely known to speak to his family or classmates, Simon uses his imagination to make sense of everything occurring around him. In her debut novel We See the Stars, Kate van Hooft writes with deep tenderness of the difficulties of being an outcast growing up as a young boy in 1970s rural Victoria, and of the frustration of being a child misunderstood by the adults and peers around you.

Struggling to connect with his classmates as his family life disintegrates, Simon finds companionship in his brother, Davey, the ‘weird’ girl from his class, Cassie, and his beloved teacher, Ms Hilcombe. Yet when Ms Hilcombe mysteriously disappears from town, Simon is adamant he is the only one who knows how to save her. Along the way, van Hooft crafts fairytale-like imagery of Simon’s internal struggles – the pains inside his body become birds in his chest, the honeycomb of swarming bees, or rising storm clouds.

As the novel reaches its conclusion, van Hooft increasingly moves into magic realism as Simon’s reality continues to slip away from him. Simon’s world was always illusory, wrapped up in his escapism with imaginary friends, Superman and travelling ghosts, and expressed most poignantly in the consistent return to the sublimity of the night sky and to the love he expresses for his mother:

‘Is that the Big Dipper?’ Mum asked. Her eyes were bright from the light in them, and they shone in the darkness more than any of the stars in the sky.’

We are left with a puzzling, open ending, and, ultimately, it is up to the reader to put together the pieces. This is a hauntingly beautiful, compelling and touching novel that keeps you guessing.


Caitlin Cassidy works as a bookseller at Readings Carlton.

This item is not currently in-stock. It can be ordered online and is expected to ship in 3-6 days

Our stock data is updated overnight, and availability may change throughout the day for in-demand items. Please call the relevant shop for the most current stock information. Prices are subject to change without notice.

Sign in or become a Readings Member to add this title to a wishlist.