Furiously Happy

Jenny Lawson

Furiously Happy
  • Format
  • Publisher
  • Country
  • Published
  • Pages
  • ISBN

Furiously Happy

Jenny Lawson

For fans of David Sedaris, Tina Fey and Caitlin Moran comes the new book from Jenny Lawson, author of the #1 New York Times bestseller Let’s Pretend This Never Happened///

In Let’s Pretend This Never Happened, Jenny Lawson regaled readers with uproarious stories of her bizarre childhood. In her new book, Furiously Happy, she explores her lifelong battle with mental illness. A hysterical, ridiculous book about crippling depression and anxiety? That sounds like a terrible idea. And terrible ideas are what Jenny does best.

As Jenny says:  You can’t experience pain without also experiencing the baffling and ridiculous moments of being fiercely, unapologetically, intensely and (above all) furiously happy.

It’s a philosophy that has - quite literally - saved her life.

Jenny’s first book, Let’s Pretend This Never Happened, was ostensibly about family, but deep down it was about celebrating your own weirdness. Furiously Happy is a book about mental illness, but under the surface it’s about embracing joy in fantastic and outrageous ways.

And who doesn’t need a bit more of that?

Review

Furiously Happy had me from the title. Or, perhaps it was the stuffed raccoon on the front cover? Hard call. But a happy read was high among my hopes. Following on from the success of her earlier book, Let’s Pretend This Never Happened, Jenny Lawson delivers again with a hilarious romp of a read that will have you curled over with laughter and gasping for breath. Laughing must be the best exercise for the stomach muscles as mine felt sore from laughing so much given the constant and unrelenting serves of hilarity. Lawson has a way with the ridiculous, setting up outrageous scenarios that grow in absurdity to such an extent that even your wildest imagination couldn’t prepare you for where she’s going to take you. Seriously, Lawson is so unpredictable that I’m certain she even takes herself by surprise!

The comedic episodes in this book deserve to be experienced fully in the context in which they are written so there’ll be no spoilers from me. Suffice to say, this book is more than just a work of comedy. Followers of Lawson’s blog The Bloggess will know of her life-long struggle with depression and anxiety. Lawson is up-front about her mental health issues and there is an honesty about her struggle that is real and humanising.

For Lawson, it is the polarity of experience that allows her to delve deep into her suffering and to scale the heights of ‘furiously happy’ too. In her manic state Lawson is outrageous, eccentric and very funny. But her down times, as she relates them in the book, are desperately sad. I couldn’t help but feel joy and empathy for her in equal measure. In the words of Ron Weasley, when you read this book, ‘You’re gonna suffer … but you’re gonna be happy about it.’


Natalie Platten works as a bookseller at Readings Malvern.

This item is not currently in-stock. It can be ordered online and is expected to ship in 3-6 days

Our stock data is updated overnight, and availability may change throughout the day for in-demand items. Please call the relevant shop for the most current stock information. Prices are subject to change without notice.

Sign in or become a Readings Member to add this title to a wishlist.