Louisa May Alcott: Work, Eight Cousins, Rose in Bloom, Stories & Other Writings

Louisa May Alcott, Susan Cheever

Louisa May Alcott: Work, Eight Cousins, Rose in Bloom, Stories & Other Writings
  • Format
  • Publisher
  • Country
  • Published
  • Pages
  • ISBN

Louisa May Alcott: Work, Eight Cousins, Rose in Bloom, Stories & Other Writings

Louisa May Alcott, Susan Cheever

After the success of Little Women, Louisa May Alcott brought her genius for characterization and eye for detail to a series of revolutionary novels and stories remarkable for their forthright assertion of women’s rights. In the largely autobiographical Work- A Story of Experience, twenty-one-year-old orphan Christie Devon announces ‘a new Declaration of Independence’ and pursues economic self-sufficiency through a variety of jobs- servant, actress, governess, companion, and seamstress, among others. Eight Cousins and its sequel Rose in Bloom follow the fate of Rose Campbell, another orphan, who with the benefit of a progressive education charts her own course to fulfilment and love. All three novels are presented with art from the original editions and supplemented by seven rare stories and public letters - two restored to print for the first time in more than a century - as well as notes identifying the many allusions, quotations, and autobiographical episodes.

This item is not currently in-stock. It can be ordered online and is expected to ship in 2-14 days

We are currently experiencing delays in processing and delivering online orders. Click here for more information.

Please note, our stock data is updated overnight, and availability may change throughout the day. Prices are subject to change without notice.

Sign in or become a Readings Member to add this title to a wishlist.