Paperboy

Vince Vawter

Paperboy
  • Format
  • Publisher
  • Country
  • Published
  • Pages
  • ISBN

Paperboy

Vince Vawter

* Reminiscent of To Kill a Mockingbird. –Booklist, Starred An unforgettable boy and his unforgettable story. I loved it! –ROB BUYEA, author of Because of Mr. Terupt and Mr. Terupt Falls Again This Newbery Honor winner is perfect for fans of To Kill a Mockingbird, The King’s Speech, and The Help. A boy who stutters comes of age in the segregated South, during the summer that changes his life. Little Man throws the meanest fastball in town. But talking is a whole different ball game. He can barely say a word without stuttering–not even his own name. So when he takes over his best friend’s paper route for the month of July, he’s not exactly looking forward to interacting with the customers. But it’s the neighborhood junkman, a bully and thief, who stirs up real trouble in Little Man’s life. A Newbery Honor Award Winner An ALA-ALSC Notable Children’s Book An IRA Children’s and Young Adults' Choice An IRA Teachers' Choice A Bank Street College of Education Best Book of the Year A National Parenting Publications Award Honor Book A BookPage Best Children’s Book An ABC New Voices Pick A Junior Library Guild Selection An ALA-ALSC Notable Children’s Recording An ALA-YALSA Amazing AudiobookA Mississippi Magnolia State Award List Selection [Vawter’s] characterization of Little Man feels deeply authentic, with … his fierce desire to be ‘somebody instead of just a kid who couldn’t talk right.’ –The Washington Post Paperboy offers a penetrating look at both the mystery and the daily frustrations of stuttering. People of all ages will appreciate this positive and universal story. –Jane Fraser, president of the Stuttering Foundation of America * [A] tense, memorable story. –Publishers Weekly, Starred An engaging and heartfelt presentation that never whitewashes the difficult time and situation as Little Man comes of age. –Kirkus Reviews Vawter portrays a protagonist so true to a disability that one cannot help but empathize with the difficult world of a stutterer. –School Library Journal

This item is in-stock and will ship in 1-2 business days

Our stock data is updated overnight, and availability may change throughout the day for in-demand items. Please call the relevant shop for the most current stock information. Prices are subject to change without notice.

Sign in or become a Readings Member to add this title to a wishlist.