What we're reading

Everything I Never Told You

Everything I Never Told You

Celeste Ng

A haunting debut novel about a mixed-race family living in 1970s Ohio and the tragedy that will either be their undoing or their salvation

$22.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Rodham

Rodham

Curtis Sittenfeld

What if Hillary hadn't married Bill? The sensational long-awaited new novel by the acclaimed bestselling author of American Wife.

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Quarterly Essay 78: The Coal Curse - Resources, Climate and Australia's Future

Quarterly Essay 78: The Coal Curse - Resources, Climate and Australia’s Future

Judith Brett

In this nuanced and insightful essay, Judith Brett looks at the consequences of Australia's coal addiction, from stalled climate-change policy to tensions between farmers and miners. She assesses where to next for a fractious...

$22.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewThe Vanishing Half

The Vanishing Half

Brit Bennett

From the author of the New York Times bestseller The Mothers, a powerful new novel about the parallel lives of estranged twin sisters who choose to live in two very different worlds - one black and one white.     ...

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewHow to Talk About Climate Change in a Way That Makes a Difference

How to Talk About Climate Change in a Way That Makes a Difference

Rebecca Huntley

A self-help book for the climate era, for readers of Ross Garnaut, Tim Flannery, Hugh Mackay

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Willy-willy Wagtail (Tales from the Bush Mob)

Willy-willy Wagtail (Tales from the Bush Mob)

Helen Milroy

Tales from the Bush Mob is a series of books about the Bush Mob, a group of animals that works together to solve problems.

$22.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewThe Spill

The Spill

Imbi Neeme

In 1982, a car overturns on a remote West Australian road. Nobody is hurt, but the impact is felt for decades.

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewThe End of the World Is Bigger than Love

The End of the World Is Bigger than Love

Davina Bell

A breathtakingly original novel about love and destruction, from an award-winning Australian children's author.

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

As Fast As I Can

As Fast As I Can

Penny Tangey

One girl. One dream. A few hurdles. Ten-year-old Vivian is determined to win a medal at the Olympic Games one day. Problem is, she hasn't found a sport she's any good at yet.

$16.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewWhat Zola Did on Monday

What Zola Did on Monday

Melina Marchetta, Deb Hudson

From the author of Looking for Alibrandi comes this gorgeous series to engage and entertain newly independent young readers.

$12.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewThe Glad Shout

The Glad Shout

Alice Robinson

The Glad Shout is an extraordinary novel of rare depth and texture, by the acclaimed writer of Anchor Point, Alice Robinson. After a catastrophic storm destroys Melbourne, Isobel flees to higher ground with her husband and young...

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Dear Friend, From My Life I Write to You in Your Life

Dear Friend, From My Life I Write to You in Your Life

Yiyun Li

Written over two years while the author battled depression, in and out of hospital, Dear Friend is a painful and yet richly affirming examination of what makes life worth living. Interweaving personal memoir with a wide-ranging...

$22.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Beatrix Bakes

Beatrix Bakes

Natalie Paull

Embrace the unparalleled joys of baking seasonally and creatively with this mouth-watering collection of recipes brought to you by Melbourne's tiny beloved bakery, Beatrix.

$45.00Buy now

Finding stock availability...

A Bear Named Bjorn

A Bear Named Bjorn

Delphine Perret, Antony Shugaar

Bjorn lives in a cave. The walls are soft, the ground is comfortable, and just in front there is new grass and a rough tree, perfect for back-scratching.

$24.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewHamnet

Hamnet

Maggie O'Farrell

Told in Maggie O'Farrell's unique voice, Hamnet reveals for the first time in fiction the story of heartbreaking loss which inspired Shakespeare's most celebrated play

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewThe Safe Place

The Safe Place

Anna Downes

Superbly tense and oozing with atmosphere, The Safe Place combines the modern suspense of The Girl on the Train with the gothic mind-games of Rebecca.     

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewIndelicacy

Indelicacy

Amina Cain

A ghostly feminist fable, Amina Cain's Indelicacy is the story of a woman navigating between gender and class roles to empower herself and fulfill her dreams.

$22.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Humankind: A Hopeful History

Humankind: A Hopeful History

Rutger Bregman

The major new book from Dutch historian Rutger Bregman, international bestselling author of Utopia for Realists and one of the greatest young thinkers of our time

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewBurn

Burn

Patrick Ness

An all-consuming story of revenge, redemption and dragons from the twice Carnegie Medal-winner Patrick Ness.

$24.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewHe Started It

He Started It

Samantha Downing

The bestselling author of My Lovely Wife takes on the most fraught domestic relationship of them all: sibling rivalry.

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

I'll Be Gone in the Dark

I’ll Be Gone in the Dark

Michelle McNamara

A masterful true crime account of the Golden State Killer - the elusive serial rapist turned murderer who terrorised California for over a decade - from Michelle McNamara, the gifted journalist who died tragically while...

$22.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewNotes from an Apocalypse

Notes from an Apocalypse

Mark O'Connell

Veteran worrier, author of To Be a Machine and father of two, Mark O'Connell, meets the anarchists, environmentalists, far-right nut-jobs and super-rich who are preparing for the end of days.

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Fathoms: The World in the Whale

Fathoms: The World in the Whale

Rebecca Giggs

A stunning meditation on the awe-inspiring lives of whales, revealing what they can teach us about ourselves, our planet, and our relationship to other species.

$35.00Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewNormal People

Normal People

Sally Rooney

Connell and Marianne grow up in the same small town in rural Ireland. The similarities end there; they are from very different worlds. When they both earn places at Trinity College in Dublin, a connection that has grown between...

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewPhosphorescence

Phosphorescence

Julia Baird

A beautiful, intimate and inspiring investigation into how we can find and nurture within ourselves that essential quality of internal happiness - the 'light within' that Julia Baird calls 'phosphorescence' - which will sustain us...

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Recollections of My Non-Existence

Recollections of My Non-Existence

Rebecca Solnit

A landmark memoir from the author of Men Explain Things to Me: an electric portrait of the artist as a young woman that asks how a young writer finds her voice in a society that prefers women to be silent.

$34.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Love After Love

Love After Love

Ingrid Persaud

Meet the Ramdin-Chetan family: forged through loneliness, broken by secrets, saved by love. Irrepressible Betty Ramdin, her shy son Solo and their marvellous lodger, Mr Chetan, form an unconventional household, happy in their...

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Don’t see anything you like? Search our catalogue of over a million books.