What we're reading

The Boneless Mercies

The Boneless Mercies

April Genevieve Tucholke

An epic YA fantasy set in a breathtaking new world, this is perfect for fans of V.E.Schwab, Leigh Bardugo, Laini Taylor and Melinda Salisbury.     

$16.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Unlike the Heart: A Memoir of Brain and Mind

Unlike the Heart: A Memoir of Brain and Mind

Nicola Redhouse

After the birth of her first child, Nicola Redhouse experiences an unrelenting anxiety that quickly overwhelms her. Her immense love for her child can't protect her from the dread that prevents her leaving the house, opening the...

$29.95Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Ayoade on Ayoade

Ayoade on Ayoade

Richard Ayoade

In this book Richard Ayoade -- actor, writer, director, and amateur dentist -- reflects on his cinematic legacy as only he can: in conversation with himself. Over ten brilliantly insightful and often erotic interviews, Ayoade...

$22.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Outline

Outline

Rachel Cusk

Shortlisted for the Folio Prize 2015, this book is all about writing and talking, about self-effacement and self-expression, about the desire to create and the human art of self-portraiture in which that desire finds its universal...

$24.95Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Less

Less

Andrew Sean Greer

A scintillating satire of the American abroad, a rumination on time and the human heart, a bittersweet romance of chances lost, Less is the winner of the 2018 Pulitzer Prize for Fiction.

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Paradise Rot

Paradise Rot

Jenny Hval, Marjam Idriss

A lyrical debut novel from a musician and artist renowned for her sharp sexual and political imagery.   

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewThe Book of Ordinary People

The Book of Ordinary People

Claire Varley

Six strangers bound by fate.

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Special price Read reviewThe Children's House

The Children’s House

Alice Nelson

Alice Nelson skilfully weaves together these shared stories of displacement and trauma into a beautifully told, hope-filled, outstanding novel.  

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewHeartland

Heartland

Sarah Smarsh

An eye-opening, topical, and moving memoir of one woman's experience of working-class poverty in America.

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Spite Game

The Spite Game

Anna Snoekstra

Anna Snoekstra's The Spite Game is Liane Moriarty meets Stephen King: a walk on the darker side of domestic suspense with toe-dips into horror. The cinematic writing style and taut pacing that landed Anna's Only Daughter in...

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Call Me Evie

Call Me Evie

J.P. Pomare

An incredible literary thriller for readers of bestsellers such as Gone Girl, Before I Go to Sleep and Girl on the Train from an exciting new Australian voice.   

$26.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Jackfruit and Blue Ginger: Asian Favourites, Made Vegan

Jackfruit and Blue Ginger: Asian Favourites, Made Vegan

Sasha Gill

When Sasha Gill turned vegan, she didn't want to miss out on the vibrant flavours of her favourite Asian dishes - so she got to work 'veganising' them. Studying medicine in the UK, far from her childhood home in Singapore, Sasha...

$39.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Neither Here Nor Hair Anthology

Neither Here Nor Hair Anthology

Alisha Jade

Neither Here Nor Hair is heartfelt comics anthology by 14 Australian creators about their relationships with hair (of all kinds). From hilarious to gut-punching, exploring our cultural norms and sometimes rejecting them, 14...

$15.00Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewStandard Deviation

Standard Deviation

Katherine Heiny

A divinely funny novel about the challenges of a good marriage, the delight and heartache of raising children, and the irresistible temptation to wonder about the path not taken. This sensational debut will appeal to fans of David...

$22.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

A Time of Gifts

A Time of Gifts

Patrick Leigh Fermor

The great travel classic, first published in 1977 and recounting an epic journey of nearly 50 years before, reissued in paperback with an Introduction by Jan Morris

$24.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

When Katie Met Cassidy

When Katie Met Cassidy

Camille Perri

From the acclaimed author of The Assistants comes another gutsy book about the importance of women taking the reins - this time, when it comes to love, sex, and self-acceptance.

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewLenny's Book of Everything

Lenny’s Book of Everything

Karen Foxlee

Lenny, small and sharp, has a younger brother Davey who won't stop growing - and at seven is as tall as a man. Raised by their single mother, who works two jobs and is made almost entirely out of worries, they have food and a roof...

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewClose to Home: Selected Writings

Close to Home: Selected Writings

Alice Pung

This delightful collection brings together Alice Pung's most loved writing, on migration, family, identity, art and more. Warm, funny, moving and unfailingly honest, this is Alice Pung at her best - an irresistible delight for...

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

My Sister, the Serial Killer

My Sister, the Serial Killer

Oyinkan Braithwaite

A blackly comic novel about lies, love, Lagos, and how blood is thicker - and more difficult to get out of the carpet - than water.   

$27.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Best Summer Stories

Best Summer Stories

Aviva Tuffield

Summer is the time for good stories. This lively new collection from Black Inc. draws together new and published short fiction from some of our country's most talented storytellers, showcasing the vibrancy and diversity of...

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Special priceThe Wych Elm

The Wych Elm

Tana French

A spellbinding standalone from a literary writer who turns the crime genre inside out, The Wych Elm asks what we become, and what we're capable of, if we no longer know who we are.

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewYou Think It, I'll Say It: Stories

You Think It, I’ll Say It: Stories

Curtis Sittenfeld

The title story of Curtis Sittenfeld's brilliant first collection, You Think It, I'll Say It, is about a married woman who flirts with a man she meets at parties, by playing a game where she puts into words the sharp and critical...

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Special price Read reviewThe Arsonist

The Arsonist

Chloe Hooper

On the day that became known as Black Saturday, one man deliberately lit two fires near the small town of Churchill, Gippsland, then sat on the roof of his house and watched the flames. The Arsonist, by the acclaimed author of The...

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Special priceFire and Blood

Fire and Blood

George R. R. Martin, Doug Wheatley

Set 300 years before the events in A Song of Ice and Fire, Fire and Blood is the definitive history of the Targaryens in Westeros as told by Archmaester Gyldayn, and chronicles the conquest that united the Seven Kingdoms under...

$39.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

My Year of Rest and Relaxation

My Year of Rest and Relaxation

Ottessa Moshfegh

A shocking, hilarious and strangely tender novel about a young woman's experiment in narcotic hibernation, aided and abetted by one of the worst psychiatrists in the annals of literature.

$35.00Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Special priceTiberius with a Telephone: The life and stories of William McMahon

Tiberius with a Telephone: The life and stories of William McMahon

Patrick Mullins

The oddly compelling story of a man regarded as Australia's worst prime minister.

$49.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Special priceHeroes

Heroes

Stephen Fry

The dazzling companion volume to the bestselling Mythos. There are heroes - and then there are Greek heroes

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Don’t see anything you like? Search our catalogue of over a million books.