What we're reading

Recipe for a Perfect Wife

Recipe for a Perfect Wife

Karma Brown

When Alice finds a vintage cookbook buried in the basement, she becomes captivated by its previous owner: 1950s housewife Nellie Murdoch. As Alice cooks her way through the past, she realizes that within the pages Nellie left...

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Caste

Caste

Isabel Wilkerson

A startling and transformative account of how we are all tied up in a caste system, from NYT-bestselling, Pulitzer Prize-winning author Isabel Wilkerson.     

$35.00Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewThree Women

Three Women

Lisa Taddeo

Three Women is a record of unmet needs, unspoken thoughts, disappointments, hopes and unrelenting obsessions.

$22.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

A Feather on the Breath of God

A Feather on the Breath of God

Sigrid Nunez

From Sigrid Nunez, the National Book Award-winning and bestselling author of The Friend, comes this mesmerising story about the tangled nature of relationships between parents and children, between language and love.   ...

$22.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

A Girl Returned

A Girl Returned

Donatella Di Pietrantonio, Ann Goldstein

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Girl A

Girl A

Abigail Dean

Lex Gracie doesn't want to think about her family. She doesn't want to think about growing up in her parents' House of Horrors. And she doesn't want to think about her identity as Girl A: the girl who escaped. 

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Pizza Girl

Pizza Girl

Jean Kyoung Frazier

Named a most anticipated book of 2020 by Vogue, Harper's Bazaar, Elle, Marie Claire, Time, People, BuzzFeed, Bustle, and more. Perfect for fans of Normal People and Fleabag Great...

$24.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewUnquiet

Unquiet

Linn Ullmann

A stunning, genre-bending book about time, memory, and the author's extraordinary childhood as the daughter of a genius filmmaker and his muse.

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Sad Ghost Club: Volume 1

The Sad Ghost Club: Volume 1

Lize Meddings

Ever felt anxious or like you don't belong? Like you're almost... invisible? Find your kindred spirits at The Sad Ghost Club. (You are not alone. Shhh. Pass it on.)

$22.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

A Thousand Ships

A Thousand Ships

Natalie Haynes

A feminist retelling of the Trojan War - giving voices to the women the myths forgot...      

$18.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Outlawed

Outlawed

Anna North

The Crucible meets True Grit in this riveting adventure story of a fugitive girl, a mysterious gang of robbers, and their dangerous mission to transform the Wild West.     

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Shuggie Bain

Shuggie Bain

Douglas Stuart

A heart-wrenching debut novel set in Thatcher-era Glasgow: Shuggie Bain tells the story of a boy's doomed attempt to save his proud, alcoholic mother from her addiction.

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Kind of a Big Deal

Kind of a Big Deal

Shannon Hale

A high school dropout finds herself literally transported into the books she reads, and must make her way back to reality.

$18.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewThe Westing Game

The Westing Game

Ellen Raskin, Mac Barnett

BE CLASSIC with The Westing Game, introduced by New York Times bestselling author Mac Barnett.

$13.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Last Story of Mina Lee

The Last Story of Mina Lee

Nancy Jooyoun Kim

A searing mother-daughter story exploring the diverse and unsettling realities of being an immigrant in America.      

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Special priceA Promised Land

A Promised Land

Barack Obama

A riveting, deeply personal account of history in the making-from the 44th President of the United States, Barack Obama. This is the first volume in an unmissable two-part memoir, which covers his early political career and his...

$54.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewPiranesi

Piranesi

Susanna Clarke

From the New York Times bestselling author of Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell, an intoxicating, hypnotic new novel set in a dreamlike alternative reality.

$27.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Special priceSmart Ovens for Lonely People

Smart Ovens for Lonely People

Elizabeth Tan

Conspiracies, memes, and therapies of various efficacy underpin this beguiling short-story collection from Elizabeth Tan.

$24.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Consolation

Consolation

Garry Disher

Australia's favourite country cop, Hirsch, is back in Consolation, the follow-up to Peace and Bitter Wash Road.

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Olga

Olga

Bernhard Schlink, Charlotte Collins

The life of one woman - Olga - from late 19th century Prussia to modern Germany. A novel of love, passion and History from beloved modern master Bernhard Schlink.

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Nganajungu Yagu

Nganajungu Yagu

Charmaine Papertalk Green

An award-winning work of poetry from Charmaine Papertalk Green.

$20.00Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Please Don't Hug Me

Please Don’t Hug Me

Kay Kerr

A funny-serious own-voices story about what happens when you stop trying to be the person other people expect you to be and give yourself a go.

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Mexican Gothic

Mexican Gothic

Silvia Moreno-Garcia

The acclaimed author of Gods of Jade and Shadow returns with a mesmerising feminist re-imagining of Gothic fantasy, in which a young socialite discovers the haunting secrets of a beautiful old mansion in 1950s Mexico. ...

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewThe Thursday Murder Club

The Thursday Murder Club

Richard Osman

A page-turning murder mystery in the tradition of Christie, and a joyful, laugh-out-loud celebration of modern Britishness and the power of friendship, The Thursday Murder Club is a true classic in the making.   

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Travelling Light

Travelling Light

Tove Jansson

Another perfect holiday read from the author of the bestselling 'The Summer Book'

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Special price Read reviewMantel Pieces

Mantel Pieces

Hilary Mantel

A stunning collection of essays and memoir from twice Booker Prize winner and international bestseller Hilary Mantel, author of the Wolf Hall Trilogy.    

$29.95Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Heartburn

Heartburn

Nora Ephron

This autobiographical novel by Nora Ephron, Oscar-nominated screenwriter (When Harry Met Sally) and successful director (Sleepless in Seattle), is a bittersweet and very funny book about love and loss. Published as part of a...

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewMayflies

Mayflies

Andrew O'Hagan

Everyone has a Tully Dawson: the friend who defines your life. In the summer of 1986, in a small Scottish town, James and Tully ignite a brilliant friendship based on music, films and the rebel spirit. Tully has news. ...

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Searcher

The Searcher

Tana French

Our greatest living mystery writer weaves a masterful tale of breath-taking beauty and suspense, asking what we sacrifice in our search for truth and justice, and what we risk if we don't.

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewOne Day I'll Remember This: Diaries 1987-1995

One Day I’ll Remember This: Diaries 1987-1995

Helen Garner

In this second volume of diaries from one of Australia's greatest writers, we see Garner in love; asking herself questions about relationships, individuality, morality and contentment.      

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewOnly Happiness Here

Only Happiness Here

Gabrielle Carey

Elizabeth von Arnim is one of the early 20th century's most famous - and forgotten -authors. Her novels were ahead of their time in their representation of women and their pursuit of happiness.

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewThe Palace Letters

The Palace Letters

Professor Jenny Hocking

What role did the queen play in the governor-general Sir John Kerr's plans to dismiss prime minister Gough Whitlam in 1975, which unleashed one of the most divisive episodes in Australia's political history?

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewThe Perfect World of Miwako Sumida

The Perfect World of Miwako Sumida

Clarissa Goenawan

A bewitching novel set in contemporary Japan about the mysterious suicide of a young woman.

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Don’t see anything you like? Search our catalogue of over a million books.