Translated fiction 2017

 Special priceSweet Bean Paste

Sweet Bean Paste

Durian Sukegawa, Alison Watts

A charming tale of friendship, love and loneliness in contemporary Japan

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Karate Chop

Karate Chop

Dorthe Nors, Martin Aitken

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Out of the Blue: New Short Fiction from Iceland

Out of the Blue: New Short Fiction from Iceland

Helen Mitsios, Sjon

A groundbreaking collection of fiction from Iceland's best contemporary authors

$34.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Impostor

The Impostor

Javier Cercas, Frank Wynne

A true story packed with fiction, from the admired Spanish writer, Javier Cercas

$26.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Winter: (Seasons Quartet 2)

Winter: (Seasons Quartet 2)

Karl Ove Knausgaard, Ingvild Burkey, Lars Lerin

The second volume in his autobiographical quartet based on the seasons, Winter is an achingly beautiful collection of daily meditations and letters addressed directly to Knaugsaard's unborn daughter

$35.00Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Travelling Cat Chronicles

The Travelling Cat Chronicles

Hiro Arikawa, Philip Gabriel

The Japanese sensational bestseller: the tender, feelgood story of a man's journey around Japan with a streetcat. Translated by Philip Gabriel, a translator of Murakami.

$29.95Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Rest of Their Lives

The Rest of Their Lives

Jean-Paul Didierlaurent, Ros Schwartz

Filled with all the larger-than-life characters and enchanting storytelling that made readers fall for The Reader on the 6.27, Jean-Paul Didierlaurent's follow-up novel, The Rest of Their Lives, is set to charm the world.

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Go, Went, Gone

Go, Went, Gone

Jenny Erpenbeck, Susan Bernofsky

One of the greatest European writers takes on one of Europe's biggest issues.

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

After the Fire

After the Fire

Henning Mankell, Marlaine Delargy

The last novel from international crime bestseller Henning Mankell. A brilliant and moving mystery set in the Swedish archipelago.

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Ferocity

Ferocity

Nicola Lagioia, Antony Shugaar

Winner of the 2015 Strega Prize, Italy's preeminent prize for fiction, Ferocity is a cinematic suspense novel that also addresses vital social questions, a combination of Gillian Flynn's Gone Girl and Jonathan Franzen's Freedom,...

$27.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Multiple Choice

Multiple Choice

Alejandro Zambra, Megan McDowell

Reader, your life is full of choices. Some will bring you joy and others will bring you heartache.  

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewThe Red-Haired Woman

The Red-Haired Woman

Orhan Pamuk, Ekin Oklap

On the outskirts of a town thirty miles from Istanbul, a master well digger and his young apprentice are hired to find water on a barren plain. As they struggle in the summer heat, excavating meter by meter, the two will develop a...

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewAutumn: (Seasons Quartet 1)

Autumn: (Seasons Quartet 1)

Karl Ove Knausgaard, Ingvild Burkey, Vanessa Baird

Begins with a letter the author writes to his unborn daughter. He adds one short piece per day, describing the material and natural world with the precision and mesmerising intensity that have become his trademark.

$35.00Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Twins

Twins

Dirk Kurbjuweit, Imogen Taylor

A dark and powerful story of adolescence, friendship and rivalry from one of Germany's great literary talents.

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Stolen Bicycle

The Stolen Bicycle

Wu Ming-Yi, Darryl Sterk

From the critically acclaimed Taiwanese author Wu Ming-Yi comes an intimate and magical collage of stories about family, war, history, friendship and bicycles.

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Girl Who Takes an Eye for an Eye

The Girl Who Takes an Eye for an Eye

David Lagercrantz, George Goulding

The fifth in the Millennium series that began with The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo - the global publishing phenomenon.

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Cantonese Love Stories: Twenty-five Vignettes of a City: Penguin Specials

Cantonese Love Stories: Twenty-five Vignettes of a City: Penguin Specials

Kai-cheung Dung

$9.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

All My Goodbyes

All My Goodbyes

Mariana Dimopulos, Alice Whitmore

This highly acclaimed contemporary Argentinian novel is the first in Giramondo's 'Literature of the South' series, featuring innovative fiction and non-fiction by writers of the.....

$24.95Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Susan Effect

The Susan Effect

Peter Hoeg, Martin Aitken

Susan Svendsen has a special talent: she has a unique ability to make people confide in her and tell her their innermost secrets. She has exploited that talent, and now has a prison sentence hanging over her head for punching a...

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Vengeance is Mine, All Others Pay Cash

Vengeance is Mine, All Others Pay Cash

Eka Kurniawan, Annie Tucker

Vivid, bawdy, comic, and arresting, the exciting new novel by the Indonesian phenomenon, Eka Kurniawan

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewAnna

Anna

Niccolo Ammaniti, Jonathan Hunt

The extraordinary new dystopian novel from the author of the international bestseller I'm Not Scared

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Mountain

The Mountain

Luca D'Andrea, Howard Curtis

An atmospheric commercial thriller channeling Stephen King and Jo l Dicker, set among Italy's mysterious Dolomite Mountains

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Can You Hear Me?

Can You Hear Me?

Elena Varvello, Alex Valente

A riveting coming-of-age story, told with the breathless precision of a Hitchcock noir by a masterful new voice in Italian literature.

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Kingdom Cons

Kingdom Cons

Yuri Herrera, Lisa Dillman

Beats, daggers, girls, and graft: can the Artist sing truth to power where a Mexican drug baron holds court?

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Ghachar Ghochar

Ghachar Ghochar

Vivek Shanbhag, Srinath Perur

A sensitive young man who is never named - along with his sister, his parents, and his uncle move from a cramped, ant-infested shack to a larger house and encounter newfound wealth, the family dynamics begin to shift. Allegiances...

$24.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Special priceThe French Art of War

The French Art of War

Alexis Jenni

Angry, dazzling and humane, The French Art of War is the Goncourt-winning novel about the intervals of peace and the moments of unspeakable savagery in French wars spanning half the world and half a century.

$10.00Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Revolution Of The Moon

The Revolution Of The Moon

Andrea Camilleri, Stephen Sartarelli

Based on a true story, Camilleri's gripping and richly imagined novel tells the story of a woman whose courage and political vision is tested at every step by misogyny and reactionary conservatism.

$24.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The President's Gardens

The President’s Gardens

Muhsin Al-Ramli, Luke Leafgren

One Hundred Years of Solitude meets The Kite-Runner in Saddam Hussein's Iraq

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Kruso

Kruso

Lutz Seiler, Tess Lewis

The lyrical, bestselling 2014 German Book Prize winner.

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Madonna in a Fur Coat

Madonna in a Fur Coat

Sabahattin Ali, Maureen Freely, Alexander Dawe

The bestselling Turkish classic of love and longing in a changing world. Madonna in a Fur Coat is an unforgettable novel about new beginnings and the unfathomable nature of the human soul.

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Ties

Ties

Domenico Starnone, Jhumpa Lahiri

This translation of Lacci is copyright 2016.

$24.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Last Wolf & Herman

The Last Wolf & Herman

László Krasznahorkai, George Szirtes, John Batki

Two masterly novellas by Europe's preeminent literary genius.

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Black Notebook

The Black Notebook

Patrick Modiano, Mark Polizzotti

A nocturnal wander through the hazes of memory and the mysteries of the past from Patrick Modiano, Nobel Laureate 2014

$24.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Mirror, Shoulder, Signal

Mirror, Shoulder, Signal

Dorthe Nors, Misha Hoekstra

In Mirror, Shoulder, Signal, Dorthe Nors brings her distinctive blend of style, humor, and insight to a poignant journey of one woman in search of herself when there's no one to ask for directions.

$21.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Don't Tell Me You're Afraid

Don’t Tell Me You’re Afraid

Giuseppe Catozzella, Anne Milano Appel

Samia Omar grows up in war-torn Somalia, dreaming of being a world-class sprinter. She sleeps with a photo of Mo Farah by her bed and trains hard. After achieving a place on the national team to compete in the Beijing Olympics,...

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Sudden Death

Sudden Death

Alvaro Enrigue, Natasha Wimmer

As Caravaggio, the libertine of Italy's art world, and the loutish Spanish poet Quevedo aim to settle scores over the course of one brutal tennis match, the old European order edges closer to eruption.   

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Big Green Tent: A Novel

The Big Green Tent: A Novel

Ludmila Ulitskaya, Polly Gannon

The Big Green Tent is the kind of book for which the term Russian novel was invented. A sweeping saga, it tells the story of three school friends who meet in 1950s Moscow and go on to embody the heroism, folly, compromise, and...

$34.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Fear

Fear

Dirk Kurbjuweit, Imogen Taylor

The most original thriller of 2018, for fans of The Dinner and We Need to Talk About Kevin.How do you protect your family when the law's not on your side?

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Styx

Styx

Bavo Dhooge, Josh Pachter

From award-winning Flemish crime writer Bavo Dhooge, an atmospheric, genre-busting crime novel about a cop who comes back from the dead to track down the same serial killer who shot him.

$32.95Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Master, Liar, Traitor, Friend

Master, Liar, Traitor, Friend

Christoffer Carlsson, Michael Gallagher

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Don’t see anything you like? Search our catalogue of over a million books.