The Costa Book Awards shortlists 2020

 Special price Read reviewThe Man in the Red Coat

The Man in the Red Coat

Julian Barnes

Britain's most passionate Francophile takes us on a wonderfully rich, witty tour of Belle Epoque Paris, via the life story of the pioneering surgeon Samuel Pozzi

$15.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Piranesi

Piranesi

Susanna Clarke

From the New York Times bestselling author of Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell, an intoxicating, hypnotic new novel set in a dreamlike alternative reality.

$27.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Peace Talks

Peace Talks

Tim Finch

Edvard Behrens is a senior diplomat of some repute, highly regarded for his work on international peace negotiations. Under his arbitration, unimaginable atrocities are coolly dissected; invisible and ancient lines, grown taut and...

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Dear Life

Dear Life

Rachel Clarke

A brilliant combination of lyrical memoir and guide to living and dying, comparable to Kathryn Mannix's With the End in Mind and Julia Samuel's Grief Works, from the author of Your Life in My Hands.     

$22.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewThe Great Godden

The Great Godden

Meg Rosoff

This is the story of one family, one dreamy summer - the summer when everything changes.

$15.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Love After Love

Love After Love

Ingrid Persaud

Meet the Ramdin-Chetan family: forged through loneliness, broken by secrets, saved by love. Irrepressible Betty Ramdin, her shy son Solo and their marvellous lodger, Mr Chetan, form an unconventional household, happy in their...

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Louder I Will Sing

The Louder I Will Sing

Lee Lawrence

A snapshot of Britain's relationship with race and racism in recent history, THE LOUDER I WILL SING is the story of Lee Lawrence's fight for justice for his mother Cherry Groce, who was paralysed as a result of police shooting her...

$45.00Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Air Year

The Air Year

Caroline Bird

The sixth collection from award-winning poet and dramatist Caroline Bird.

$28.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

My Darling from the Lions

My Darling from the Lions

Rachel Long

A beautiful and searching debut collection exploring race, shame, love and healing, from a thrilling new voice.

$22.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Historians

The Historians

Eavan Boland

A new collection from Eavan Boland, a pioneering figure in Irish poetry who has been credited with inspiring a generation. This will be her final collection, following her passing in April 2020.

$26.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Family Tree

The Family Tree

Sairish Hussain

'Poignantly paints the extraordinary in ordinary lives. A brilliant first book from Hussain.' The Sunday Post 'An evocative portrayal of love and family.' Ayisha Malik ...

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Voyage of the Sparrowhawk: Winner of the Costa Children's Book Award 2020

Voyage of the Sparrowhawk: Winner of the Costa Children’s Book Award 2020

Natasha Farrant

Lotti's horrible aunt and uncle want to send her away to boarding-school (when she has just so successfully managed to get expelled from her last one!) And Clara, their young teacher, is waiting for news of her missing fiance. ...

$16.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

All the Water in the World

All the Water in the World

Karen Raney

A stunning debut novel about a teenage girl and her mother, as they grapple with serious illness, first love, family secrets and tragic loss. For fans of Jodi Picoult and John Green.

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Super Miraculous Journey of Freddie Yates

The Super Miraculous Journey of Freddie Yates

Jenny Pearson, Rob Biddulph

Freddie Yates likes facts. Just not the one staring him in the face. Because Freddie's journey wasn't meant to involve the onion-eating competition or the loo-exploding pear-and-potato turnovers. And Freddie definitely didn't...

$14.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Don’t see anything you like? Search our catalogue of over a million books.