Recommended reads from Indigenous Australians

Benevolence

Benevolence

Julie Janson

For perhaps the first time in novel form, Benevolence presents an important era in Australia's history from an Aboriginal perspective.

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Throat

Throat

Ellen van Neerven

Throat is the explosive second poetry collection from award-winning Mununjali Yugambeh writer Ellen van Neerven.

$24.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Fire Country: How Indigenous Fire Management Could Help Save Australia

Fire Country: How Indigenous Fire Management Could Help Save Australia

Victor Steffensen

Fire Country is a cry from the heart asking for change in how Australia cares for country.

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Talkin' Up to the White Woman

Talkin' Up to the White Woman

Aileen Moreton-Robinson

In this accessible and provocative analysis of the whiteness of Australian feminism the author applies academic training and cultural knowledge in revealing the invisible position of power and privilege in feminist practice. This...

$22.00Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Archer Magazine: The First Nations Issue (Issue 13)

Archer Magazine: The First Nations Issue (Issue 13)

Bridget Caldwell-Bright, Maddee Clark, Andrew Farrell, Claire Helen, Indiah Money

Welcome to Archer Magazine: the FIRST NATIONS issue, edited by Bridget Caldwell-Bright and Maddee Clark.

$16.95Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewToo Much Lip

Too Much Lip

Melissa Lucashenko

Winner of the Miles Franklin Literary Award 2019. A dark and funny new novel from the multi-award-winning author of Mullumbimby.

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewThe White Girl

The White Girl

Tony Birch

The new novel from Miles-Franklin-shortlisted author Tony Birch.

$29.95Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewThe Yield

The Yield

Tara June Winch

Just tell the truth and someone will hear it eventually.

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Drover's Wife

The Drover’s Wife

Leah Purcell

The Drover's Wife is utterly authentic, brilliantly plotted, thoroughly harrowing and entirely of our times exploring race, gender, violence and inheritance.

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewThe Old Lie

The Old Lie

Claire G. Coleman

A thrilling and ambitious new novel from the author of the bestselling and prize-winning Terra Nullius

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Dark Emu

Dark Emu

Bruce Pascoe

Contradicts the conventional wisdom that native peoples were primitive hunter-gatherers

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Special priceTell Me Why: The Story of My Life and My Music

Tell Me Why: The Story of My Life and My Music

Archie Roach

One of the most powerful and highly anticipated life stories to be told in Australian history. A breathtakingly powerful memoir by beloved Australian music legend Archie Roach - stolen child, musical and lyrical genius and the...

$39.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewSalt: Selected Stories and Essays

Salt: Selected Stories and Essays

Bruce Pascoe

A collection of stories and essays by the award-winning author of Dark Emu, showcasing his shimmering genius across a lifetime of work.

$34.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewAustralia Day

Australia Day

Stan Grant

As uncomfortable as it is, we need to reckon with our history. On January 26, no Australian can really look away. There are the hard questions we ask of ourselves on Australia Day.  

$34.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewJack Charles: Born-again Blakfella

Jack Charles: Born-again Blakfella

Jack Charles

Jack Charles has worn many hats throughout his life: actor, cat burglar, musician, heroin addict, activist, even Senior Victorian Australian of the Year. But the title he's most proud to claim is that of Aboriginal Elder.

$34.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewTracker

Tracker

Alexis Wright

Miles Franklin-winning author Alexis Wright has crafted a memoir in story form of the charismatic Indigenous leader Tracker Tilmouth, and an epic portrait of a important period in the political life of Australia, reminiscent in...

$39.95Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewHeat and Light

Heat and Light

Ellen Van Neerven

In this award-winning work of fiction, Ellen van Neerven takes her readers on a journey that is mythical, mystical and still achingly real. Over three parts, she takes traditional storytelling and gives it a unique,...

$22.95Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Song Spirals: Sharing Women's Wisdom of Country Through Songlines

Song Spirals: Sharing Women’s Wisdom of Country Through Songlines

Gay'wu Group of Women

Songspirals is a rare opportunity for outsiders to experience Aboriginal women's role in crying the songlines in a very authentic and direct form. 

$34.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewGrowing Up Aboriginal in Australia

Growing Up Aboriginal in Australia

Anita Heiss

This groundbreaking anthology aims to enlighten, inspire and educate about the lives of Aboriginal people in Australia today.

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewCatching Teller Crow

Catching Teller Crow

Ambelin Kwaymullina, Ezekiel Kwaymullina

Winner of the Prize for Young Adult Writing at the 2019 Victorian Premier's Literary Awards. Told in two unforgettable voices, this gripping novel interweaves themes of grief, colonial history, violence,...

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Us Women, Our Ways, Our World

Us Women, Our Ways, Our World

Pat Dudgeon, Jeannie Herbert, Jill Milroy, Darlene Oxenham

$35.00Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Living In Hope

Living In Hope

Frank Byrne, Frances Coughlan, Gerard Waterford

A memoir of boyhood by a man who was removed as a child - from country, from culture and language, from family, from his mother.  

$15.00Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewTaboo

Taboo

Kim Scott

From the two-times winner of the Miles Franklin Literary Award, comes a work charged with ambition and poetry, brutality and mystery about a young woman cast into a drama that has been playing for over two hundred years ...

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Blakwork

Blakwork

Alison Whittaker

 Alison Whittaker's Blakwork is an original and unapologetic collection from which two things emerge; an incomprehensible loss, and the poet's fearless examination of the present.

$24.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Nganajungu Yagu

Nganajungu Yagu

Charmaine Papertalk Green

Forty years ago, letters, words and feelings flowed between a teenage daughter and her mother. Letters written by that teenage daughter - me - handed around family back home, disappeared. Yet letters from that mother to her...

$20.00Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Inside My Mother

Inside My Mother

Ali Cobby Eckermann

In her new poetry collection, Inside My Mother, Indigenous poet Ali Cobby Eckermann explores the trauma created by family separation, felt as an interminable void in its darkest aspects, but in other ways a magical place 'beyond...

$24.00Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Swallow the Air

Swallow the Air

Tara June Winch

When May's mother dies suddenly, she and her brother Billy are taken in by an aunt. However their loss leaves them both searching for their place in a world that doesn't want them. May sets off to find her father and her...

$28.00Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewTerra Nullius

Terra Nullius

Claire G. Coleman

In the near future Australia is about to experience colonisation once more. What have we learned from our past? A daring debut novel from the winner of the 2016 black&write! writing fellowship.

$22.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewMullumbimby

Mullumbimby

Melissa Lucashenko

A darkly funny novel of romantic love and cultural warfare from one of Australia's most admired Indigenous voices. When Jo Breen uses her divorce settlement to buy a neglected property in the Byron Bay hinterland, she is hoping...

$29.95Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewTalking To My Country

Talking To My Country

Stan Grant

An extraordinarily powerful and personal meditation on race, culture and national identity by one of Australia's leading journalists.

$24.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Ruby Moonlight

Ruby Moonlight

Ali Cobby Eckermann

Ruby Moonlight, a novel of the impact of colonisation in mid north South Australia around 1880. The main character, Ruby, refugee of a massacre, shelters in the woods where she befriends an Irishman trapper. The poems convey how...

$22.95Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewAm I Black Enough For You?

Am I Black Enough For You?

Anita Heiss

The author gives a firsthand account of her experience as a woman with an Aboriginal mother and Australian father and explains the development of her activists consciousness

$34.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

My Place

My Place

Sally Morgan

Traces the experiences of Sally Morgan's life, growing up in Perth in the 50s & 60s. Through the memories and images of her childhood and adolescence, vague hints and echoes begin to emerge and a fascinating story unfolds - a...

$24.95Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewThe Swan Book

The Swan Book

Alexis Wright

Shortlisted for the 2014 Miles Franklin Award

$24.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Carpentaria

Carpentaria

Alexis Wright

Alexis Wright is one of Australia's finest Aboriginal writers. Carpentaria is her second novel, an epic set in the Gulf country of north-western Queensland, from where her people come. The novel's portrait of life in the...

$26.95Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewBlood

Blood

Tony Birch

From the much-loved author of Shadowboxing comes a stunning debut novel in the tradition of Honey Brown, Chris Wommersley, and Kenneth Cook's Wake in Fright .  

$22.95Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Shadowboxing

Shadowboxing

Tony Birch

Shadowboxing is a collection of ten linked stories in the life of a boy growing up in the inner-Melbourne suburb of Fitzroy in the 1960s. A beautifully rendered time capsule, it captures a period of decay, turmoil and change...

$24.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Benang: From the Heart

Benang: From the Heart

Kim Scott

I tell you that this story of my own is part of a much older story... one of a perpetual billowing from the sea, with its rhythm of return, return, remain... I offer these words, especially to those of you I embarrass, and who...

$26.95Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewThat Deadman Dance

That Deadman Dance

Kim Scott

In playful, musical prose, this book explores the early contact between the Aboriginal Noongar people and the first European settlers. The novel's hero is a young Noongar man named Bobby Wabalanginy.

$22.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Don’t see anything you like? Search our catalogue of over a million books.