Recommended reads from Indigenous Australians

Griffith Review 63: Writing the Country

Griffith Review 63: Writing the Country

Ashley Hay, Julianne Schultz

Griffith Review 63: Writing the Country is a timely exploration of Australia's changing natural and built environments

$27.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Blak Brow

Blak Brow

Paola Balla, Karen Jackson, Kim Kruger, Pauline Whyman, Tony Birch, Bridget Caldwell

Blak Brow is the very special Issue 40 of The Lifted Brow - an edition created entirely and independently by a First Nations collective of editors, curators, academics, designers, and activists. It is filled with new work by First...

$15.95Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Blakwork

Blakwork

Alison Whittaker

A stunning mix of memoir, reportage, fiction, satire, and critique composed by a powerful new voice in poetry. Alison Whittaker's Blakwork is an original and unapologetic collection from which two things emerge; an...

$24.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewToo Much Lip

Too Much Lip

Melissa Lucashenko

A dark and funny new novel from the multi-award-winning author of Mullumbimby.

$29.95Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewTaboo

Taboo

Kim Scott

From the two-times winner of the Miles Franklin Literary Award, comes a work charged with ambition and poetry, brutality and mystery about a young woman cast into a drama that has been playing for over two hundred years ...

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Dark Emu (New Edition)

Dark Emu (New Edition)

Bruce Pascoe

Contradicts the conventional wisdom that native peoples were primitive hunter-gatherers

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewMarcia Langton: Welcome to Country

Marcia Langton: Welcome to Country

Marcia Langton

A completely new and inclusive guidebook to Indigenous Australia and the Torres Strait Islands

$39.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewCatching Teller Crow

Catching Teller Crow

Ambelin Kwaymullina, Ezekiel Kwaymullina

Winner of the Prize for Young Adult Writing at the 2019 Victorian Premier's Literary AwardsNothing's been the same for Beth Teller since she died. Her dad, a detective, is the only one...

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Comfort Food

Comfort Food

Ellen Van Neerven

Following on from the success of her award-winning fiction debut, Heat and Light, Ellen van Neerven announces herself as a talented poet with this intoxicating collection. Moving between places and cultures, Comfort Food...

$24.95Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Ruby Moonlight

Ruby Moonlight

Ali Cobby Eckermann

Ruby Moonlight, a novel of the impact of colonisation in mid north South Australia around 1880. The main character, Ruby, refugee of a massacre, shelters in the woods where she befriends an Irishman trapper. The poems convey how...

$22.95Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Inside My Mother

Inside My Mother

Ali Cobby Eckermann

‘...an outstanding achievement that will, with its skill and elegance, deeply enrich Australian poetry and whoever reads it.' Judges' citation, 2013 NSW Premier's Literary Award for PoetryAli Cobby...

$24.00Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewAm I Black Enough For You?

Am I Black Enough For You?

Anita Heiss

The author gives a firsthand account of her experience as a woman with an Aboriginal mother and Australian father and explains the development of her activists consciousness

$34.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewGrowing Up Aboriginal in Australia

Growing Up Aboriginal in Australia

Anita Heiss

This groundbreaking anthology aims to enlighten, inspire and educate about the lives of Aboriginal people in Australia today.

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewTracker

Tracker

Alexis Wright

Winner of the Stella Prize 2018Miles Franklin-winning author Alexis Wright has crafted a memoir in story form of the charismatic Indigenous leader Tracker Tilmouth, and an epic portrait of a important...

$39.95Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewCommon People

Common People

Tony Birch

From the 2016 Victorian Premier's Literary Award-winning author of Ghost River.

$29.95Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewTerra Nullius

Terra Nullius

Claire G. Coleman

In the near future Australia is about to experience colonisation once more. What have we learned from our past? A daring debut novel from the winner of the 2016 black&write! writing fellowship.

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Black Cockatoo

Black Cockatoo

Carl Merrison, Hakea Hustler

Black Cockatoo is a vignette that follows Mia, a young Aboriginal girl as she explores the fragile connections of family and culture.Mia is a 13-year-old girl from a remote community in the Kimberley. She is...

$11.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewHeat And Light

Heat And Light

Ellen Van Neerven

In this award-winning work of fiction, Ellen van Neerven takes her readers on a journey that is mythical, mystical and still achingly real. Over three parts, she takes traditional storytelling and gives it a unique,...

$22.95Buy now

Finding stock availability...

My Place

My Place

Sally Morgan

Traces the experiences of Sally Morgan's life, growing up in Perth in the 50s & 60s. Through the memories and images of her childhood and adolescence, vague hints and echoes begin to emerge and a fascinating story unfolds - a...

$24.95Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewBlood

Blood

Tony Birch

From the much-loved author of Shadowboxing comes a stunning debut novel in the tradition of Honey Brown, Chris Wommersley, and Kenneth Cook's Wake in Fright .  

$22.95Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Wounded Sinner

The Wounded Sinner

Gus Henderson

In this unforgettable debut, The Wounded Sinner shines a light on growing old, fidelity and identity which run through this unique and gritty novel, in which all are asking the ultimate questions about life, death and the purpose...

$19.95Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Shadowboxing

Shadowboxing

Tony Birch

Shadowboxing is a collection of ten linked stories in the life of a boy growing up in the inner-Melbourne suburb of Fitzroy in the 1960s. A beautifully rendered time capsule, it captures a period of decay, turmoil and change...

$24.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewThe Swan Book

The Swan Book

Alexis Wright

Shortlisted for the 2014 Miles Franklin Award

$24.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Carpentaria

Carpentaria

Alexis Wright

Alexis Wright is one of Australia's finest Aboriginal writers. Carpentaria is her second novel, an epic set in the Gulf country of north-western Queensland, from where her people come. The novel's portrait of life in the...

$26.95Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Benang: From the Heart: Fremantle Press Treasures

Benang: From the Heart: Fremantle Press Treasures

Kim Scott

I tell you that this story of my own is part of a much older story... one of a perpetual billowing from the sea, with its rhythm of return, return, remain... I offer these words, especially to those of you I embarrass, and who...

$26.95Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewThat Deadman Dance

That Deadman Dance

Kim Scott

In playful, musical prose, this book explores the early contact between the Aboriginal Noongar people and the first European settlers. The novel's hero is a young Noongar man named Bobby Wabalanginy.

$22.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewMullumbimby

Mullumbimby

Melissa Lucashenko

A darkly funny novel of romantic love and cultural warfare from one of Australia's most admired Indigenous voices. When Jo Breen uses her divorce settlement to buy a neglected property in the Byron Bay hinterland, she is hoping...

$29.95Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Us Women, Our Ways, Our World

Us Women, Our Ways, Our World

Pat Dudgeon, Jeannie Herbert, Jill Milroy, Darlene Oxenham

An exemplar of Indigenous Studies writing, epistemologically, theoretically and methodologically.A collection of writings on women and Aboriginal identity from 14 senior Indigenous academics and community leaders. The...

$35.00Buy now

Finding stock availability...

After The Carnage

After The Carnage

Tara June Winch

A single mother resorts to extreme measures to protect her young son. A Nigerian student undertakes a United Nations internship in the hope of a better future. A recently divorced man starts a running group with members of an...

$24.95Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewTalking To My Country

Talking To My Country

Stan Grant

An extraordinarily powerful and personal meditation on race, culture and national identity by one of Australia's leading journalists.

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Don’t see anything you like? Search our catalogue of over a million books.