Recommended fiction

Portrait of a Thief

Portrait of a Thief

Grace D. Li

A cinematic, entertaining and fast-paced debut novel that is part-Ocean's Eleven, part-The Social Network and part-Crazy Rich Asians, Portrait of a Thief is an addictive mix of heist and unlikely friendships by way of the politics...

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewHell of a Book

Hell of a Book

Jason Mott

An astounding work of fiction - resoundingly powerful, endlessly quotable and funny as hell - with its sights set on getting to the heart of racism in America. In short, this is one Hell of a Book.

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Crossroads

Crossroads

Jonathan Franzen

Set in a historical moment of moral crisis, Crossroads - the first instalment of the trilogy A Key to All Mythologies - is the stunning foundation of a sweeping investigation of human mythologies, as the Hildebrandt family...

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewHarlem Shuffle

Harlem Shuffle

Colson Whitehead

From two-time Pulitzer Prize-winning author Colson Whitehead, a gloriously entertaining novel of heists, shakedowns and rip-offs set in Harlem in the 1960s.

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Nightbitch

Nightbitch

Rachel Yoder

For readers of Jenny Offill and Curtis Sittenfeld, this is a funny, provocative, pin-sharp novel that redefines modern motherhood

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

They (Faber Editions)

They (Faber Editions)

Kay Dick, Carmen Maria Machado

Introduced by Carmen Maria Machado, the radical dystopian classic, lost for forty years: in a nightmarish through-a-glass-darkly Britain, they are coming closer...

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewThe Bass Rock

The Bass Rock

Evie Wyld

Three women, hundreds of years apart, slip into each other's lives in a novel of darkness, violence and madness.  

$22.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewBodies of Light

Bodies of Light

Jennifer Down

Jennifer Down cements her status as a leading light of Australian literary fiction in this heart-rending and intimate saga of one woman's turbulent life

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewPiranesi

Piranesi

Susanna Clarke

From the New York Times bestselling author of Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell, an intoxicating, hypnotic new novel set in a dreamlike alternative reality.

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Luster

Luster

Raven Leilani

Razor sharp. provocatively page-turning and surprisingly tender, Luster is a painfully funny coming-of-age story told by a fresh new voice.

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewOne Hundred Days

One Hundred Days

Alice Pung

From one of Australia's most celebrated authors comes a mother-daughter drama exploring the faultlines between love and control.

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Outlawed

Outlawed

Anna North

'A feminist Western about a world in which women's worth and right to live are determined by the vagaries of fertility. Set in an alternate past, one all too similar to our today, OUTLAWED is a masterpiece' R.O. Kwon

$22.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Still Life

Still Life

Sarah Winman

By the bestselling, prize-winning author of When God was a Rabbit and Tin Man, Still Life is a beautiful, big-hearted, richly tapestried story of people brought together by love, war, art, flood... and the ghost of E.M. Forster.

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

A Feather on the Breath of God

A Feather on the Breath of God

Sigrid Nunez

From Sigrid Nunez, the National Book Award-winning and bestselling author of The Friend, comes this mesmerising story about the tangled nature of relationships between parents and children, between language and love.   ...

$22.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Sorrow and Bliss

Sorrow and Bliss

Meg Mason

Spiky, sharp, intriguingly dark and tender, full of pathos, fury and wit, Sorrow and Bliss by Meg Mason is a dazzling, distinctive novel from a boldly talented writer. For fans of Sally Rooney, Taffy Brodesser-Akner and...

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewSong of the Crocodile

Song of the Crocodile

Nardi Simpson

A captivating Australian saga from the winner of the 2018 black&write! fellowship.   

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewKokomo

Kokomo

Victoria Hannan

Winner of the 2019 Victorian Premier's Literary Award for an Unpublished Manuscript. Both tender and fierce, heartbreaking and funny, Kokomo is a story about how secrets and love have the power to bring us together and tear us...

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewLove and Virtue

Love and Virtue

Diana Reid

Feminism, power and sex play out through the eyes of young Australian uni students in a contemporary narrative that is fiercely authentic

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewConvenience Store Woman

Convenience Store Woman

Sayaka Murata, Ginny Tapley Takemori

The surprise smash hit - Japan's answer to Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine.

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Ghost Wall

Ghost Wall

Sarah Moss

Teenage Silvie and her parents are living in a hut in Northumberland as an exercise in experimental archaeology. Her father is a difficult man, obsessed with imagining and enacting the harshness of Iron Age life. Haunting Silvie's...

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewCommonwealth

Commonwealth

Ann Patchett

For use in schools and libraries only. Spanning five decades, Commonwealth explores how a chance encounter reverberates through the lives of the four parents and six children involved.

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewThe White Girl

The White Girl

Tony Birch

In The White Girl, Tony Birch has created memorable characters whose capacity for love and courage are a timely reminder of the endurance of the human spirit.      

$24.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Paul Takes the Form of A Mortal Girl

Paul Takes the Form of A Mortal Girl

Andrea Lawlor

Transposing Virginia Woolf's Orlando to 90s San Francisco, this novel of transgender metamorphosis is a wild, sexy, funny and moving story of living on the edge.    

$23.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

A Gentleman in Moscow

A Gentleman in Moscow

Amor Towles

21 June 1922 Count Alexander Rostov - recipient of the Order of Saint Andrew, member of the Jockey Club, Master of the Hunt - is escorted out of the Kremlin, across Red Square and through the elegant revolving doors of the Hotel...

$22.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewThe Goldfinch

The Goldfinch

Donna Tartt

The Goldfinch is a haunted odyssey through present-day America and a drama of enthralling power. Combining unforgettably vivid characters and thrilling suspense, it is a beautiful, addictive triumph - a sweeping...

$22.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Warlight

Warlight

Michael Ondaatje

**LONGLISTED FOR THE MAN BOOKER PRIZE 2018** An elegiac novel set in post-WW2 London about memory, family secrets and lies, from the internationally acclaimed author of The English Patient It is 1945, and London is still...

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewLucky's

Lucky’s

Andrew Pippos

An exuberant, magical Australian saga of family, love and second chances.

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Overstory

The Overstory

Richard Powers

2019 Pulitzer Prize for Fiction winnerShortlisted for the Man Booker Prize 2018, a wondrous, exhilarating novel about nine strangers brought together by an unfolding natural catastrophe.'The best novel ever...

$22.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Wolf Hall

Wolf Hall

Hilary Mantel

From one of our finest living writers, Wolf Hall is that very rare thing: a truly great English novel, one that explores the intersection of individual psychology and wider politics. With a vast array of characters, and richly...

$22.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewBoy Swallows Universe: The International Bestseller

Boy Swallows Universe: The International Bestseller

Trent Dalton

`The most extraordinary writer - a rare talent' Nikki Gemmell An utterly wonderful novel of love, crime, magic, fate and coming of age from one of Australia's most exciting...

$22.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Transit

Transit

Rachel Cusk

The process of upheaval is the catalyst for a number of transitions - personal, moral, artistic, practical - as she endeavours to construct a new reality for herself and her children.

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Olive Kitteridge

Olive Kitteridge

Elizabeth Strout

Olive Kitteridge might be described by some as a battle axe or as brilliantly pushy, by others as the kindest person they had ever met. Olive herself has always been certain that she is 100% correct about everything - although,...

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewThe Silence of the Girls

The Silence of the Girls

Pat Barker

The Iliad, as experienced by the captured women living in the Greek camp in the final weeks of the Trojan War --

$22.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Dept. of Speculation

Dept. of Speculation

Jenny Offill

The second novel from an LA Times First Fiction Prize finalist, Dept. of Speculation is an annihilating, electrifying account of marriage and motherhood, love and madness

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewThe Swan Book

The Swan Book

Alexis Wright

Shortlisted for the 2014 Miles Franklin Award

$24.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewThe Good People

The Good People

Hannah Kent

In the year 1825, in a remote valley lying between the mountains of south-west Ireland, near the Flesk river of Killarney, three women are brought together by strange and troubling events.

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewToo Much Lip: Winner of the Miles Franklin Award

Too Much Lip: Winner of the Miles Franklin Award

Melissa Lucashenko

Too much lip, her old problem from way back. And the older she got, the harder it seemed to get to swallow her opinions. The avalanche of bullshit in the world would drown her if she let it; the least she could do was raise her...

$24.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewThe Natural Way of Things

The Natural Way of Things

Charlotte Wood

An explosively provocative exploration of contemporary misogyny and corporate control by one of Australia's most acclaimed writers.

$22.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Our Souls at Night

Our Souls at Night

Kent Haruf

From the Folio Prize-shortlisted author of Plainsong, Eventide and Benediction, a stunning novel about finding happiness.

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewPulse Points: Stories

Pulse Points: Stories

Jennifer Down

Pulse Points is the collected stories by Jennifer Down, author of Our Magic Hour and one of Australia's newest and most promising literary talents.

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Don’t see anything you like? Search our catalogue of over a million books.