New biography & memoir

Beneath the Fig Leaves

Beneath the Fig Leaves

Olympia Panagiotopoulos

An evocative exploration of the ties that bind, Beneath the Fig Leaves weaves an irresistible tapestry of family, food and history to stir the heart and senses.

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

18 Tiny Deaths

18 Tiny Deaths

Bruce Goldfarb

The unlikely tale of Frances Glessner Lee and her revolutionary work in forensic science through the creation of the Nutshell Studies of Unexplained Death, a series of dollhouse-sized crime scene dioramas that she used to teach...

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Friends and Rivals: Four Great Australian Writers

Friends and Rivals: Four Great Australian Writers

Brenda Niall

The story of four remarkable women traversing the literary landscape of the late 19th and early 20th centuries in Australia, from one of our nation's most eminent historians.

$34.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Come: A Memoir

Come: A Memoir

Rita Therese

Bold, brave and darkly funny, Come is the extraordinary story of Melbourne sex worker Rita Therese and the love, sex and death she has experienced in her life so far.

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Lost Boy

The Lost Boy

Ayik Chut Deng

In episode 1 of the Ray Martin fronted SBS series Look me in the eye two South Sudanese migrants now resident in Brisbane sat across from each other.

$34.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Thinking Again

Thinking Again

Jan Morris

A second volume of Jan Morris' diaries, life through the eyes of a legendary writer in her ninth decade.

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Inferno

Inferno

Catherine Cho

Inferno is a powerful exploration of psychosis and motherhood, at once intensely personal, yet holding within it a universal experience - of how we love, live and understand ourselves in relation to each other.

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Every Conceivable Way

Every Conceivable Way

Despina Meris

What lengths would you go to to have a baby? Despina Meris thinks it will be simple, but finds herself chasing IVF, egg donors and international surrogacy in her tumultuous pursuit of parenthood.

$34.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Stranger Than Kindness

Stranger Than Kindness

Nick Cave

A journey in images and words into the creative world of musician, storyteller and cultural icon Nick Cave

$59.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Fourteen

Fourteen

Shannon Molloy

Fourteen is this generation's Holding the Man - a moving coming-of-age memoir about a young man's search for identity and acceptance in the most unforgiving and hostile of places: high school.

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Three Brothers

Three Brothers

Yan Lianke

The origin story of a childhood spent in poverty during the Cultural Revolution, from Yan Lianke, named 'China's most controversial novelist' by the New Yorker.

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Sounds Like Titanic

Sounds Like Titanic

Jessica Chiccehitto Hindman

A young woman leaves Appalachia for life as a classical musician - or so she thinks.    

$24.95Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Sissy

Sissy

Jacob Tobia

A deeply personal story of trauma and healing, a powerful reflection on gender and self-acceptance, and a hilarious guidebook for wearing tacky clip-on earrings in today's world, Sissy guarantees you'll never think about gender -...

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Husna's Story

Husna’s Story

Farid Ahmed

The couple had been praying when a gunman burst into the mosque. He shot and killed 51 people that day and injured many others. In this book Husna's husband, Farid Ahmed, tells Husna's story, including the day of the attack. ...

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

House of Glass

House of Glass

Hadley Freeman

'An utterly engrossing book' Nigella Lawson 'Remarkable and gripping' Edmund de Waal

$37.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Our House is on Fire

Our House is on Fire

Malena Ernman, Greta Thunberg, Beata Ernman, Svante Thunberg

Every parent says that they would jump in front of a train to save their child. It's an instinct that no one denies. But when that 'train' finally arrives, it is very seldom a real, speeding locomotive...  

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Rust

Rust

Eliese Colette Goldbach

True power doesn't come when we agree. It comes when we stand together.

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Two Sisters

Two Sisters

Ngarta Jinny Bent, Jukuna Mona Chuguna, Pat Lowe, Eirlys Richards

Ngarta and Jukuna lived in the Great Sandy Desert. They traversed country according to the seasons, just as the Walmajarri people had done for thousands of years. But it was a time of change. Desert people who had lived with...

$24.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

When Time Stopped

When Time Stopped

Ariana Neumann

In this remarkably moving memoir Ariana Neumann dives into the secrets of her father's past: years spent hiding in plain sight in wartorn Berlin, the annihilation of dozens of family members in the Holocaust, and the courageous...

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Watermill

The Watermill

Arnold Zable

Arnold Zable applies his lyrical sensitivity and respect to this collection highlighting human compassion and resilience

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Displaced

Displaced

John Kinsella

John Kinsella's memoir of his rural life takes us deep into the heart of what it means to belong and unbelong. The joys and travails of childhood, adult addictions, missteps and changing directions are acutely captured in...

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Motherwell: A Girlhood

Motherwell: A Girlhood

Deborah Orr

A stunning literary memoir about the author's relationship with her complicated mother and childhood.    

$45.00Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Growing Pineapples in the Outback

Growing Pineapples in the Outback

Tony Kelly, Rebecca Lister

When Rebecca Lister and Tony Kelly move from Melbourne to Mount Isa to care for Rebecca's elderly mother, Diana, they have no idea what they've signed up for. The isolation, sweltering heat and limited employment opportunities...

$29.95Buy now

Finding stock availability...

My Lucky Stroke

My Lucky Stroke

Sarah Brooker

Sarah Brooker was an ambitious young woman studying to be a neuroscientist. She had the world at her feet.

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Shapeless Unease

The Shapeless Unease

Samantha Harvey

A poignant, urgent memoir about insomnia from the acclaimed author of The Western Wind.    

$27.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewIn the Dream House: A Memoir

In the Dream House: A Memoir

Carmen Maria Machado

A revolutionary memoir about domestic abuse by the award-winning author of Her Body and Other Parties.

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewUncanny Valley: A Memoir

Uncanny Valley: A Memoir

Anna Wiener

The prescient, page-turning account of a journey into Silicon Valley. Uncanny Valley is a defining memoir for our digital age.

$27.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Ten Doors Down

Ten Doors Down

Robert Tickner

The story of a federal minister's remarkable reunion with his birth parents.

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Snakes and Ladders

Snakes and Ladders

Angela Williams

It was no surprise that Angela Williams went to jail. A traumatic, violent upbringing saw to that. But after serving a short sentence for theft as a teenager, she worked hard to break the cycle. Thirteen years later Angela was...

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Lotus Eaters

The Lotus Eaters

Emily Clements

A gripping memoir of sex, self-worth, female friendship and what it means to be a young woman today.

$34.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Buru Island

Buru Island

Hersri Setiawan, Jennifer Lindsay

Buru Island was the site of Indonesia's most remote and infamous  prison camp. In the wake of the 1965 repression of the political Left, between  1969 and 1979, approximately 12,000 men were held on Buru without formal...

$29.95Buy now

Finding stock availability...

We Swim to the Shark

We Swim to the Shark

Georgie Codd

For readers of The Outrun and The Salt Path a meditation on diving and fear, and what we're all really afraid of.    

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Meaty: Essays

Meaty: Essays

Samantha Irby

More wickedly funny essays from the author of We Are Never Meeting in Real Life.

$22.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Yellow House

The Yellow House

Sarah M. Broom

A brilliant, haunting and unforgettable memoir of home and family, from a stunning new talent, set in a shotgun house in New Orleans.     

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Sphinx

The Sphinx

Hugo Vickers

A completely revised and updated edition of Hugo Vickers's original biography of Gladys Deacon, the second wife of the 9th Duke of Marlborough and fiercely intelligent beauty who was at the glittering centre of Belle Epoque...

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Riding With Giants

Riding With Giants

Peter Holmes a Court

A story about the nature of work, the science of bicycles and the wisdom of children.

$34.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Burn the Place: A Memoir

Burn the Place: A Memoir

Iliana Regan

Michelin-starred chef Iliana Regan's (Elizabeth, Kitsune) culinary memoir, chronicling this intensely driven chef's upbringing in rural Northwest Indiana, her battle with addiction, and the development of her career in urban...

$39.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Parisian Lives: Samuel Beckett, Simone de Beauvoir and Me

Parisian Lives: Samuel Beckett, Simone de Beauvoir and Me

Deirdre Bair

Award-winning biographer Deirdre Bair explores her fifteen remarkable years in Paris with Samuel Beckett and Simone de Beauvoir, painting intimate new portraits of two literary giants.

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Don’t see anything you like? Search our catalogue of over a million books.