New Australian fiction

Chasing the McCubbin

Chasing the McCubbin

Sandi Scaunich

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Breaking

The Breaking

Irma Gold

Hannah Bird has just arrived in Thailand. Disoriented and out of her depth, she meets Deven, a fierce and gutsy Australian expat who sweeps her into thrilling adventures rescuing elephants.   

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Ash Mountain

Ash Mountain

Helen FitzGerald

Ash Mountain is a uniquely Australian domestic noir - warm, blackly funny and a powder keg of accumulated tension. Vividly portraying small-town life, and a woman and a land in crisis, this is a disaster thriller you will never...

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Performance

The Performance

Claire Thomas

The breakout literary sensation of 2021 from the prize-winning author of Fugitive Blue.

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Women and the Girls

The Women and the Girls

Laura Bloom

Three friends. Three marriages left behind. Life begins in earnest.

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Eye of a Rook

Eye of a Rook

Josephine Taylor

In 1860s London, Arthur sees his wife Emily suddenly struck down by a pain for which she can find no words, forced to endure harmful treatments and reliant on him for guidance. 

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewO

O

Steven Carroll

From one of our foremost writers, the acclaimed and multi-award-winning Steven Carroll, comes O, a reimagining of what might have been, the story of a novel that took on a life of its own and mirrored its times in a way the author...

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewThe Beach Caves

The Beach Caves

Trevor Shearston

Written in simple, beautiful prose, and with great depth and moral complexity, The Beach Caves is a powerful story about jealousy, guilt, the choices we make

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewBorn Into This

Born Into This

Adam Thompson

Engaging, thought-provoking stories from a young Tasmanian Aboriginal author who addresses universal themes - identity, racism, heritage destruction - from a wholly original perspective.  

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewThe Speechwriter

The Speechwriter

Martin McKenzie-Murray

In his fiction debut, erstwhile speechwriter and Saturday Paper journalist Martin McKenzie-Murray takes us on a frantic, funny, and surreal journey through the corridors of power.

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Sargasso

Sargasso

Kathy George

An empty house, a lonely shore, an enigmatic, brooding man-child waiting for her return ... a trip to the dark lands of Australian Gothic, for readers of Kate Morton and Hannah Richell.   

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewThe Imitator

The Imitator

Rebecca Starford

A powerfully insightful and luminous portrait of courage and loyalty, and the sacrifices made in their name.       

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Low Expectations

Low Expectations

Stuart Everly-Wilson

Meet Australian literature's new anti-hero in this blackly humorous debut novel for fans of Boy Swallows Universe and Jasper Jones.

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Funny Thing about Norman Foreman

The Funny Thing about Norman Foreman

Julietta Henderson

What do you get when you cross a painfully awkward son, lofty comedic ambition and a dead best friend?      

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewThe Price of Two Sparrows

The Price of Two Sparrows

Christy Collins

Piercingly clear-eyed and deeply insightful, The Price of Two Sparrows explores what we hold sacred and why.

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Repentance

Repentance

Alison Gibbs

A tale of a country town and its rhythms, Repentance is also the story of modern Australia at one of its flashpoints, told tenderly and beautifully through the eyes of characters you won't forget.

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Champagne War

Champagne War

Fiona McIntosh

From the killing fields of Ypres to the sun-kissed vineyards of southern France, The Champagne War is a heart-stopping adventure about the true power of love and hope to light the way during war.

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Factory 19

Factory 19

Dennis Glover

They tell us that human happiness lies only in the future. But what if it really lies in the past?   

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewLife After Truth

Life After Truth

Ceridwen Dovey

At their fifteen-year reunion, a group of Harvard graduates - labouring with early middle age, marriage and children, unrealised aspirations and a depressing political climate - rekindle old loves and old resentments. ...

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewInfinite Splendours

Infinite Splendours

Sofie Laguna

Lawrence Loman is a bright, caring, curious boy with a gift for painting. He lives at home with his mother and younger brother, and the future is laid out before him, full of promise. But when he is ten, an experience of betrayal...

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Collisions: Fictions of the Future

Collisions: Fictions of the Future

Leah Jing McIntosh, Hassan Abul, Adalya Nash Hussein, Cher Tan

Experimental, genre-bending, lucid stories of the future from the inaugural Liminal Fiction Prize longlist. 

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Where The Fruit Falls

Where The Fruit Falls

Karen Wyld

An ancient ocean roars under the red dirt. Hush. Be still for just a moment. Hear its thunder-ing waves crashing on unseen shores.

$27.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewLucky's

Lucky’s

Andrew Pippos

An exuberant, magical Australian saga of family, love and second chances.

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewHoneybee

Honeybee

Craig Silvey

The highly anticipated new novel by the bestselling author of Jasper Jones.

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewSong of the Crocodile

Song of the Crocodile

Nardi Simpson

A captivating Australian saga from the winner of the 2018 black&write! fellowship.   

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Special price Read reviewAll Our Shimmering Skies

All Our Shimmering Skies

Trent Dalton

The highly anticipated second book by the author of Boy Swallows Universe Trent Dalton.   

$26.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

At the Edge of the Solid World

At the Edge of the Solid World

Daniel Davis Wood

A compulsive, compelling and lyrical novel, told with extraordinary empathy and emotional intelligence, this sweeping saga examines the nature of loss, the resilience and fragility of the family unit and the stories we tell to...

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewThe Living Sea of Waking Dreams

The Living Sea of Waking Dreams

Richard Flanagan

An ember storm of a novel, this is Booker Prize-winning novelist Richard Flanagan at his most moving - and astonishing - best.     

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewThe Tolstoy Estate

The Tolstoy Estate

Steven Conte

Powerful, densely rich and deeply affecting, The Tolstoy Estate shows Steven Conte to be one of our finest writers.

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Rural Dreams

Rural Dreams

Margaret Hickey

Funny, heartbreaking and true; the characters in Rural Dreams are the people we know and grew up with. Some of them might even be us.   

$24.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewIt's Been A Pleasure, Noni Blake

It’s Been A Pleasure, Noni Blake

Claire Christian

Claire Christian's sparkling adult debut is the millennial rom-com you've been waiting for: feminist, queer, sex-positive and shamelessly feel-good.     

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewThe Mother Fault

The Mother Fault

Kate Mildenhall

Mim's husband is missing. No one knows where Ben is, but everyone wants to find him - especially The Department. And they should know, the all-seeing government body has fitted the entire population with a universal tracking chip...

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Sorrow and Bliss

Sorrow and Bliss

Meg Mason

Spiky, sharp, intriguingly dark and tender, full of pathos, fury and wit, Sorrow and Bliss by Meg Mason is a dazzling, distinctive novel from a boldly talented writer. For fans of Sally Rooney, Taffy Brodesser-Akner and...

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewOrdinary Matter

Ordinary Matter

Laura Elvery

In 1895 Alfred Nobel rewrote his will and left his fortune made in dynamite and munitions to generations of thinkers. Since 1901 women have been honoured with Nobel Prizes for their scientific research twenty times, including...

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewThe Morbids

The Morbids

Ewa Ramsey

Caitlin is convinced she's going to die...    

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewDreams They Forgot

Dreams They Forgot

Emma Ashmere

Undercut with longing and unbelonging, absurdity and tragedy, thwarted plans and fortuitous serendipity, each story offers glimpses into the dreams, limitations, gains and losses of fragmented families, loners and lovers,...

$24.95Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Special priceSmart Ovens for Lonely People

Smart Ovens for Lonely People

Elizabeth Tan

Conspiracies, memes, and therapies of various efficacy underpin this beguiling short-story collection from Elizabeth Tan.

$24.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewThe Rain Heron

The Rain Heron

Robbie Arnott

From a 2019 Sydney Morning Herald Young Novelist of the Year and the author of the highly praised novel Flames comes another beguiling, transformative work of fiction confirming Robbie Arnott as one of Australia's most exciting...

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewA Lonely Girl is a Dangerous Thing

A Lonely Girl is a Dangerous Thing

Jessie Tu

A finalist for the 2020 Readings Prize for New Australian Fiction, this is a dazzling and original debut from a young writer with a fierce, intelligent and audacious voice.  

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewKokomo

Kokomo

Victoria Hannan

Winner of the 2019 Victorian Premier's Literary Award for an Unpublished Manuscript. Both tender and fierce, heartbreaking and funny, Kokomo is a story about how secrets and love have the power to bring us together and tear us...

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewCherry Beach

Cherry Beach

Laura McPhee-Browne

Beautifully written and intimate, Cherry Beach is a revelatory story of friendship and desire.    

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Don’t see anything you like? Search our catalogue of over a million books.