Jhalak Prize longlist 2020

Nudibranch

Nudibranch

Irenosen Okojie

A dark and lyrical collection of short stories from the author of the critically acclaimed Speak Gigantular and Butterfly Fish, whose unique voice has been praised by writers like Ben Okri and Stella Duffy.

$35.00Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Suncatcher: Shortlisted for the Jhalak Prize 2020

Suncatcher: Shortlisted for the Jhalak Prize 2020

Romesh Gunesekera

A coming-of-age story set in post-independence Sri Lanka --

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewThis Brutal House

This Brutal House

Niven Govinden

A timely queer protest novel set in the drag ball community of New York City, from a Green Carnation Prize-shortlisted author

$35.00Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Hostile Environment: How Immigrants Become the Scapegoats

Hostile Environment: How Immigrants Become the Scapegoats

Maya Goodfellow

How migrants became the scapegoats of contemporary mainstream politics

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Fleche

Fleche

Mary Jean Chan

Fleche (the French word for 'arrow') is an offensive technique commonly used in fencing, a sport of Mary Jean Chan's young adult years, when she competed locally and internationally for her home city, Hong Kong.   ...

$24.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Queenie

Queenie

Candice Carty-Williams

A darkly comic and unflinchingly raw depiction of a young woman trying to navigate her way in the world, QUEENIE is about identity, independence and carving your own path. For fans of Dolly Alderton, Bryony Gordon and Dawn...

$22.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewAsha & the Spirit Bird

Asha & the Spirit Bird

Jasbinder Bilan

In an unforgettable adventure set in contemporary India, Asha is guided by a majestic bird which she believes to be the spirit of her grandmother. Together with her best friend, Jeevan, she embarks on a journey across the...

$16.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Surge

Surge

Jay Bernard

Jay Bernard's extraordinary debut is a fearlessly original exploration of the black British archive: an enquiry into the New Cross Fire of 1981, a house fire at a birthday party in south London in which thirteen young black people...

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Remembered

Remembered

Yvonne Battle-Felton

Longlisted for the Women's Prize for Fiction 2019, Remembered is a debut historical fiction novel. It has drawn comparisons to Beloved by Toni Morrison (from the Guardian, Irish Times, Herald).

$22.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Black Flamingo

The Black Flamingo

Dean Atta

Fiercely told, this is a powerful coming-of-age story told in verse, from one of the UK's leading poets, Dean Atta. Perfect for fans of Sarah Crossan and Poet X.

$16.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Golden Child

Golden Child

Claire Adam

A deeply affecting debut novel set in Trinidad, following the lives of a family as they navigate impossible choices about scarcity, loyalty, and love

$37.95Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Afropean: Notes from Black Europe

Afropean: Notes from Black Europe

Johny Pitts

Exploring Europe's cities, writer and photographer Johny Pitts offers a new way to think about being black in Europe today.

$22.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Don’t see anything you like? Search our catalogue of over a million books.