Funny books for beginner readers

 Read reviewTake Off! (Evie and Pog, Book 1)

Take Off! (Evie and Pog, Book 1)

Tania McCartney, Cecelia Ramsdale

In the bestselling tradition of Ella and Olivia, comes the first book in a new series for early readers about best friends, Evie and Pog.

$12.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Timmy the Ticked-Off Pony and the Poo of Excitement (Timmy the Ticked-Off Pony, Book 1)

Timmy the Ticked-Off Pony and the Poo of Excitement (Timmy the Ticked-Off Pony, Book 1)

Magda Szubanski, Dean Rankine

Timmy is rude. He's lazy. He's ALWAYS cranky. And he's also one of the most FAMOUS ponies in all the known world! Until one day when...POO HAPPENS. Surely one little poo of excitement can't ruin Timmy's life. Can it?

$17.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

No Adults Allowed: Super Sidekicks (Book 1)

No Adults Allowed: Super Sidekicks (Book 1)

Gavin Aung Than

Get ready for superheroes, supervillains and super-hilarious adventures in this brand new series about four young sidekicks, from a New York Times bestselling Australian author!

$9.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Grumpy Neighbour

The Grumpy Neighbour

Sally Rippin, Aki Fukuoka

Celebrating 10 Years of Billie B Brown in 2020!

$7.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewWhat Zola Did on Monday

What Zola Did on Monday

Melina Marchetta, Deb Hudson

From the author of Looking for Alibrandi comes this gorgeous series to engage and entertain newly independent young readers.

$12.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Dory Fantasmagory: Head In The Clouds

Dory Fantasmagory: Head In The Clouds

Abby Hanlon

A loose tooth leads to hilarious hijinks with the tooth fairy in book four of the wonderfully imaginative Dory Fantasmagory series

$15.95Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Cowboy and Birdbrain

Cowboy and Birdbrain

Adam Wallace, James Hart

Join Cowboy and Birdbrain on their WACKY adventure, when their boss gives them the following job: URGENT DELIVERY! To: Ship in the Middle of the Ocean. WARNING: Do not get package wet!

$12.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Ozzy Rules! (AFL Little Legends, Book 1)

Ozzy Rules! (AFL Little Legends, Book 1)

Nicole Hayes, Adrian Beck

Packed with footy fun, this hilarious junior fiction series follows the highs and lows of junior footy.

$12.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Are You Ready to Play Outside?

Are You Ready to Play Outside?

Mo Willems

One of a series of delightfully humorous award-winning tales for beginner readers from the internationally acclaimed author-illustrator of Don't Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus! and Knuffle Bunny.

$11.95Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Cat on the Mat is Flat

The Cat on the Mat is Flat

Andy Griffiths, Terry Denton

Another collection of irresistible mirth and madness from those maestros of mayhem: Andy Griffiths and Terry Denton. Sure to become an instant family read-aloud classic, these ridiculously illustrated nonsense poem-stories will...

$12.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Ginger Green on the (UN)LUCKIEST Camp Ever!

Ginger Green on the (UN)LUCKIEST Camp Ever!

Kim Kane, Jon Davis

$12.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

I Broke My Trunk!

I Broke My Trunk!

Mo Willems

Told entirely in speech bubbles with a repetitive use of familiar phrases, this highly original book from the award-winning author of Don't Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus! is perfect for children just learning to read.

$11.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Funny Bones

Funny Bones

Oliver Phommavanh, Kate Temple, Jol Temple

If you think you've heard every funny story there is then think again ... Funny Bones is a super-huge collection of rib-tickling stories, cartoons, comics, jokes and much, much more that's bound to get even the most serious kid...

$24.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Bruno

Bruno

Catharina Valckx, Nicolas Hubesch, Antony Shugaar

Days come and go, and for Bruno they always bring something interesting. And once in a while, a day comes along that is just about perfect! These six linked stories are full of friendship, silliness, and the little moments that...

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Collected Diaries of a Sporting Superhero

The Collected Diaries of a Sporting Superhero

Shamini Flint, Sally Heinrich

Marcus Atkinson is a sporting superhero (not!). But his dad is convinced that Marcus has what it takes. Five books in this wildly popular series together in one great package!

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Accidental Trouble Magnet (Planet Omar, Book 1)

Accidental Trouble Magnet (Planet Omar, Book 1)

Zanib Mian, Nasaya Mafaridik

Welcome, readers, to the imaginative brain of Omar! The combination of Zanib Mian's hilarious text and Nasaya Mafaridik's fantastic cartoon-style illustrations make the PLANET OMAR series absolutely perfect for fans of Tom Gates...

$14.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Captain Underpants #1: Adventures of Captain Underpants

Captain Underpants #1: Adventures of Captain Underpants

Dav Pilkey

Meet Captain Underpants. His true identity is so secret, even he doesn't know who he is. He used to be Principal Krup, but now he's the crime-fighting, wedgie-dodging Captain Underpants! Make way for the only superhero wacky...

$10.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Pugs of the Frozen North

Pugs of the Frozen North

Philip Reeve, Sarah McIntyre

And they're off! Who will win the Race to the Top of the World? Helga Hammerfest and her polar bears; bounder and cheat Sir Basil Sprout-Dumpling or Shackleton Jones with his robot-powered sled?But wait, what's this? Two kids...

$16.95Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Super Narwhal and Jelly Jolt (Narwhal and Jelly 2)

Super Narwhal and Jelly Jolt (Narwhal and Jelly 2)

Ben Clanton

$12.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewThe Princess in Black

The Princess in Black

LeUyen Pham, Shannon Hale, Dean Hale

Who says princesses can't wear black? When trouble raises its blue monster head, Princess Magnolia ditches her flouncy dresses and becomes the Princess in Black.

$9.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewHattie

Hattie

Frida Nilsson, Stina Wirsen, Julia Marshall

A funny, lively, sympathetic illustrated chapter book about a street-smart country girl in her first year of school, from internationally award-winning Frida Nilsson.

$16.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Rabbit and Bear: Rabbit's Bad Habits

Rabbit and Bear: Rabbit’s Bad Habits

Julian Gough, Jim Field

Hilarious, gorgeously illustrated and with a classic feel, this is the next step up for readers of Kes Gray and Jim Field's bestselling OI FROG!

$14.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewThe Bad Guys: Episode 1

The Bad Guys: Episode 1

Aaron Blabey

They sound like the Bad Guys, they look like the Bad Guys ... and they even smell like the Bad Guys. But Mr Wolf, Mr Piranha, Mr Snake and Mr Shark are about to change all of that! Mr Wolf has a daring plan for the Bad Guys' first...

$14.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Lemonade Jones (Lemonade Jones, Book 1)

Lemonade Jones (Lemonade Jones, Book 1)

Davina Bell, Karen Blair

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewDanny Best: Full On

Danny Best: Full On

Jen Storer, Mitch Vane

Danny Best doesnt just think hes The Best. He knows it! With his friends Fab, Clancy, Sticks, Dylan and Mae, plus trusty dog Pugsley, Danny turns every single day into one crazy adventure.

$16.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewReal Pigeons Fight Crime (Real Pigeons, Book 1)

Real Pigeons Fight Crime (Real Pigeons, Book 1)

Andrew McDonald, Ben Wood

In Real Pigeons Fight Crime, Rock and his mystery-solving friends will tackle their first caseload: Why have all the breadcrumbs disappeared? Who on earth is kidnapping bats? And can the pigeons avert a dinner disaster??

$14.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewHotel Flamingo

Hotel Flamingo

Alex Milway

An enchanting four-book series featuring the adventures of Anna and her array of animal friends When young Anna inherits a dilapidated once-grand hotel from her Great Aunt Mathilde, she's determined to restore it to its former...

$14.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewSherlock Bones and the Natural History Mystery

Sherlock Bones and the Natural History Mystery

Renee Treml

A hilariously funny, action-packed mystery, starring the intrepid Sherlock Bones. 

$14.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Ask Hercules Quick

Ask Hercules Quick

Ursula Dubosarsky, Andrew Joyner

A hilarious and entertaining story about a boy who does a series of odd jobs for his eccentric neighbours, from the bestselling creators of The Terrible Plop.

$14.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewCaptain Pug

Captain Pug

Laura James, Eglantine Ceulemans

Pug is going on a seafaring adventure. He's had jam tarts for breakfast. He's wearing a smart sailor suit. There's just one problem. Pug is afraid of the water! Captain Pug is the first book in a glorious new illustrated series...

$12.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Weirdo

Weirdo

Anh Do, Jules Faber

Weir Do's the new kid in school. With an unforgettable name, a crazy family and some seriously weird habits, fitting in won't be easy but it will be funny!

$15.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Bust a Move (Derek Dool Supercool, Book 1)

Bust a Move (Derek Dool Supercool, Book 1)

Adrian Beck, Scott Edgar

Think of the COOLEST, FUNNIEST, most HANDSOME kid in school, times it by a gazillion and you get DEREK DILBERT DOOL. At least he thinks so . . . Pity he's the only one.

$14.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Atticus Van Tasticus

Atticus Van Tasticus

Andrew Daddo, Stephen Michael King

A ten-year-old pirate captain? Absurd? Not in the world of Atticus Van Tasticus, a fabulously funny new illustrated junior fiction series from the brilliant and whacky creative minds of Andrew Daddo and Stephen Michael King.

$14.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Don’t see anything you like? Search our catalogue of over a million books.