Books similar to The Handmaid's Tale

The Book of Joan

The Book of Joan

Lidia Yuknavitch

Internationally bestselling author Lidia Yuknavitch offers a vision of our near-extinction and a re-imagined Joan of Arc poised to save a world ravaged by war, in this genre-defying masterpiece

$27.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Power

The Power

Naomi Alderman

The Power is speculative fiction at its most ambitious and provocative, taking us on a thrilling journey to an alternate reality while exposing our own world.

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Glory O'Brien's History of the Future

Glory O'Brien’s History of the Future

A.S. King

When Glory O'Brien is transformed by a power to see a person's infinite past and future, she's bombarded with visions of a terrifying world: a second civil war breaks out, and girls vanish daily. And even though Glory may not see...

$17.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Bees

The Bees

Laline Paull

Enter a whole new world, in this thrilling debut novel set entirely within a beehive.

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Obernewtyn Chronicles Volume 1: Popular Penguins

Obernewtyn Chronicles Volume 1: Popular Penguins

Isobelle Carmody

In a world struggling back from the brink of apocalypse, life is harsh. But for Elspeth Gordie, born with enhanced mental abilities that would see her sterilised or burned if discovered, it is also dangerous. There is only...

$12.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Welcome to Orphancorp (Orphancorp Trilogy, Book 1)

Welcome to Orphancorp (Orphancorp Trilogy, Book 1)

Marlee Jane Ward

A sharp-edged semi-futuristic riff about a rebellious teenager's last week at an industrial orphanage.

$16.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Never Let Me Go

Never Let Me Go

Kazuo Ishiguro

In one of the most acclaimed and original novels of recent years, Kazuo Ishiguro imagines the lives of a group of students growing up in a darkly skewered version of contemporary England.

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Maresi (The Red Abbey Chronicles Book 1)

Maresi (The Red Abbey Chronicles Book 1)

Maria Turtschaninoff, Annie Prime

Maresi came to the Red Abbey in the Hunger Winter. Before then, she had only heard rumours of its existence in secret folk tales.

$16.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Children of Men

The Children of Men

P. D. James

PD James is the world's pre-eminent crime writer, most famous for her Adam Dalgliesh mysteries and for her bestselling titles Death Comes to Pemberley and The Murder Room. Children of Men was adapted into a hit film in 2006,...

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Core of the Sun

The Core of the Sun

Johanna Sinisalo, Lola Rogers

From the queen of 'Finnish weird', a captivating and witty speculative satire of a Handmaid's Tale-esque welfare state where women are either breeders or outcasts, addicts chase the elusive high of super-hot chilli peppers and one...

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Only Ever Yours

Only Ever Yours

Louise O'Neill

The Handmaid's Tale meets Mean Girls in the award-winning, critically acclaimed debut.

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewStation Eleven

Station Eleven

Emily St. John Mandel

One snowy night in Toronto famous actor Arthur Leander dies on stage whilst performing the role of a lifetime. That same evening a deadly virus touches down in North America. The world will never be the same again.

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Left Hand of Darkness

The Left Hand of Darkness

Ursula K. Le Guin

This science fiction novel is the story of Winter, an Earth-like planet with two major differences. Conditions are semi-arctic even at the warmest time of the year, and the inhabitants are all of the same sex. The book has won the...

$21.95Buy now

Finding stock availability...

1984

1984

George Orwell

Portrays life in a future time when a totalitarian government watches over all citizens and directs all activities.

$12.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Tribe Book 1: The Interrogation of Ashala Wolf

The Tribe Book 1: The Interrogation of Ashala Wolf

Ambelin Kwaymullina (Author)

The Reckoning destroyed civilisation and humanity has had to rise from the ashes. But there are now people with abilities -- Flyers, Firestarters, Rumblers … and society is scared of them. The government calls them Illegals.

$19.95Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Don’t see anything you like? Search our catalogue of over a million books.