Australian fiction 2016

While the Moon Burns: The Frontier Series 11

While the Moon Burns: The Frontier Series 11

Peter Watt

Read Peter Watt's latest instalment of the Frontier series, ahead of the epic conclusion From the Stars Above (November 2017).

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Waterfowl Are Drunk!

The Waterfowl Are Drunk!

Kate Liston-Mills

A series of funny and heart-warming short stories set in the author's hometown, Pambula, on the far south coast of New South Wales.

$22.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Easy Way Out

The Easy Way Out

Steven Amsterdam

A brand new novel everyone will be talking about from the award-winning author of Things We Didn't See Coming and What the Family Needed.

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Letter to Pessoa

Letter to Pessoa

Michelle Cahill

$24.95Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Bonobo's Dream

The Bonobo’s Dream

Rose Mulready

Atmospheric and poetic, The Bonobo's Dream is speculative fiction at its finest, probing the limits of what it means to be human in a world spun from myths and castles in the air.

$16.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Populate and Perish

Populate and Perish

George Haddad

Winner of the 2016 Seizure Viva La Novella Prize. With a razor-sharp wit, incisive social critiques and intensity of feeling, Populate and Perish announces George Haddad as a vital new voice in Australian fiction.

$16.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

After the Carnage

After the Carnage

Tara June Winch

A collection of prodigious depth and variety, After the Carnage marks the remarkable evolution of one of our finest young writers.

$24.95Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewThe Island Will Sink

The Island Will Sink

Briohny Doyle

With this gripping postmodern novel in the vein of Michel Houellebecq and Phillip K. Dick, Briohny Doyle gives us a glimpse of a grave new world we all might soon face, and in so doing announces herself as a serious literary...

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewSkylarking

Skylarking

Kate Mildenhall

'A brave, beautiful and richly textured book that delicately explores the fault lines in love and friendship.' --Lucy Treloar A spellbinding tale of friendship and desire, memory and truth, which questions what it is to remember...

$24.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Windy Season

The Windy Season

Sam Carmody

An energetically wonderfully Australian story: set in Geraldton, WA, there are sharks, fishermen and accidents with evocative, memorable descriptions of the sea, fishing and the emptiness of loss.

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewTheir Brilliant Careers: The Fantastic Lives of Sixteen Extraordinary Australian Writers

Their Brilliant Careers: The Fantastic Lives of Sixteen Extraordinary Australian Writers

Ryan O'Neill

Absurd, original and highly addictive ... In Their Brilliant Careers, Ryan O'Neill has written a hilarious novel in the guise of sixteen biographies of (invented) Australian writers. Meet Rachel Deverall, who discovered the...

$27.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Landscape with Landscape

Landscape with Landscape

Gerald Murnane

$26.95Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewFine

Fine

Michelle Wright

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewThe Toymaker

The Toymaker

Liam Pieper

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The Sound

The Sound

Sarah Drummond

$27.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Where the Light Falls

Where the Light Falls

Gretchen Shirm

An expat photographer returns to Australia to make sense of his traumatic childhood and the disappearance of his former girlfriend.

$27.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Special price Read reviewThe Healing Party

The Healing Party

Micheline Lee

$10.00Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Carrying the World

Carrying the World

Maxine Beneba Clarke

A haunting visit to the International Museum of Slavery, in Liverpool England. A feisty young black girl pushing back against authority. The joy and despair of single parenthood. A love-hate relationship with words.

$26.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Our Tiny, Useless Hearts

Our Tiny, Useless Hearts

Toni Jordan

A romantic comedy about sex, marriage and the benefits and drawbacks of being a grownup.

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Take Me To Paris, Johnny

Take Me To Paris, Johnny

John Foster, Peter Craven, John Rickard

First published in Australia in 1993. An unforgettable memoir of love, loss and humanity.

$12.95Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewBetween a Wolf and a Dog

Between a Wolf and a Dog

Georgia Blain

Ester is a family therapist with an appointment book that catalogues the woes of the middle class. She spends her days helping others find happiness, but her own family relationships are tense and frayed. Estranged from both her...

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewWhat The Light Hides

What The Light Hides

Mette Jakobsen

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Emperor of the Eight Islands: Books 1 and 2 in The Tale of Shikanoko series

Emperor of the Eight Islands: Books 1 and 2 in The Tale of Shikanoko series

Lian Hearn

In this magnificent new epic, destined to become a classic, bestselling Australian author Lian Hearn transports us to a mythical Japanese world set 300 years before Tales of the Otori.

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewA Loving, Faithful Animal

A Loving, Faithful Animal

Josephine Rowe

It is New Year's Eve, 1990, and Ru's father has disappeared again. Haunted by the horrors of the Vietnam War, Jack has been an erratic - and at times violent - presence in his family's life. Meanwhile, Ru's sister, Lani, is...

$23.95Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewOne

One

Patrick Holland

From the award-winning author of The Mary Smokes Boys, One is a novel of minimalist lyrical beauty that traverses the intersections between violence and love. It asks what right one man has to impose his will on another, and...

$29.95Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewThe High Places

The High Places

Fiona McFarlane

These wide-ranging stories resonate in the way of only the finest writing and the most pleasurable reading. There are storylines that seem straightforward on the surface but have a dozen things circling underneath, others that sit...

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewOur Magic Hour

Our Magic Hour

Jennifer Down

Katy's unexpected suicide forever changes life for her best friend Audrey, and their group of close friends in their twenties.

$29.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Seeing The Elephant: A Novel

Seeing The Elephant: A Novel

Portland Jones

A poignant story of a remarkable relationship between Frank Stevens, an Australian soldier sent to the Vietnamese Highlands to recruit and train the local hill tribes during the Vietnam War, and his Vietnamese translator, Minh....

$24.00Buy now

Finding stock availability...

 Read reviewWildlight

Wildlight

Robyn Mundy

'You spend your whole time on an island looking out to sea. It's a kind of meditation. Perhaps what you're really facing is yourself.'

$19.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Napoleon's Roads

Napoleon’s Roads

David Brooks

A writer questions the architecture of words, struggling to capture his ideas before they are lost; a husband excavating beneath his house becomes mesmerised by silence and disappears in search of solitude; a lighthouse keeper...

$23.95Buy now

Finding stock availability...

The River House

The River House

Janita Cunnington

THE BOOK CLUB PICK OF 2016! The River House is a spellbinding debut novel, resonant of childhoods past and the beauty of the Australian countryside. It is the late 1940s, and the Broody River runs through a maze of sandbanks into...

$32.99Buy now

Finding stock availability...

Don’t see anything you like? Search our catalogue of over a million books.